September 2023 YA Releases To Fall For

September is here, which means it’s time to hit the books! Our list of September 2023 YA releases includes a stack of new YA books you’re sure to fall for! We’re ready to turn over a new leaf and fall into some cozy autumn reading. We’ve done our homework and made a list of our most-anticipated September YA books. Check out these new fall titles!

If you like these September 2023 YA releases, check out our YA reading lists here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

See You on Venus

See You on Venus

The runaway romance soon to be a major motion picture starring Virginia Gardner and Alex Aiono! Two star-crossed teens embark on a journey to Spain to discover the meaning of love, death and everything in between.

There's No Way I'd Die First

There's No Way I'd Die First

A spine-tingling contemporary horror-comedy novel that follows a scary-movie buff as she hosts an elaborate Halloween bash but soon finds the festivities upended when she and her guests are forced to test their survival skills in a deadly game, from debut author Lisa Springer.

Midnight at the Houdini

Midnight at the Houdini

A girl discovers a surreal hotel where no one ever leaves. When the clock strikes midnight, she’ll be trapped there forever unless she’s able to break free from magic that in turn breaks all her rules. Perfect for fans of Caraval and The Starless Sea!

Soul of the Deep

Soul of the Deep

The stunning sequel to New York Times bestseller Skin of the Sea, in which the world must pay the price for one mermaid’s choice, and a dark force reverberates across realms. Perfect for anyone eagerly anticipating the live-action The Little Mermaid.

The Warrior Poet Way

The Warrior Poet Way

A feel-good, coming-of-age rom-com from debut author Page Powars that follows a trans teen who joins a boyfriend borrowing service masquerading as an Italian Club to prove that he’s one of the guys, especially to its frustratingly handsome leader.

Ryan and Avery

Ryan and Avery

From the New York Times bestselling author of EVERY DAY, this is a queer love story for the ages–told over the course of a couple’s first ten dates.

Monstrous

Monstrous

Forced to spend her summer in her aunt’s strange small town, a teen girl discovers dark secrets hidden in the woods. From the author of Bad Witch Burning comes another pulse-pounding novel perfect for fans of Supernatural and Lovecraft Country.

The Society for Soulless Girls

The Society for Soulless Girls

A sapphic enemies-to-lovers retelling of Jekyll & Hyde, this dark academia thriller follows two roommates who must solve an infamous cold case of serial murders on their campus after an arcane ritual gone wrong prompts another death.

Caste (Adapted for Young Adults)

Caste (Adapted for Young Adults)

In this young adult adaptation of the Oprah Book Club selection and New York Times bestselling nonfiction work, Pulitzer Prize–winning author Isabel Wilkerson explores the unspoken hierarchies that divide us across lines of race and class. Revealing and timely, this work will speak to young people who are engaged more than ever with the world around them, or to anyone who believes in a more just existence for all.

The Haunting

The Haunting

#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Natasha Preston is back with another pulse-pounding, twisty read!

Haunted by the past . . .

Nubia: The Reckoning

Nubia: The Reckoning

The sequel to Nubia: The Awakening, the epic fantasy from actor and producer Omar Epps and writer Clarence A. Haynes! A powerful saga of three teens, the children of refugees from a fallen African utopia, who must navigate their newfound powers in a climate-ravaged New York City.

Friends Like These

Friends Like These

“Sharp, atmospheric, and wildly fast-paced”—Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They’ll Never Catch Us

From the author of Lies Like Wildfire comes another page-turning thriller about the little lies we all tell before the truth sets us free—perfect for readers of Karen M. McManus and Diana Urban.

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined