[wps_cart_icon]

The Underlined YA Mood Reading List

Feeling tense and anxious, overwhelmed, disillusioned, or bored? Check out our mood reading list and find the perfect book for you. Let us know what you’re reading at @getunderlined!

Your Mood: Are you tense and anxious, unable to take your mind off the things that are worrying you?

YA Mood Reading List Rec: Read a fun, flirty YA romance to put a smile back on your face!

Love from Scratch

Love from Scratch

By Kaitlyn Hill

Coming 01.03.23

Rival interns with sizzling chemistry in and out of the kitchen? That’s a recipe for love. This summer, Reese Camden is trading sweet tea and Southern hospitality for cold brew and crisp coastal air. She’s landed her dream marketing internship at Friends of Flavor, a wildly popular cooking channel in Seattle. The only problem? Benny Beneventi, the relentlessly charming, backwards-baseball-cap-wearing culinary intern—and her main competition for the fall job.

The Matchbreaker Summer

The Matchbreaker Summer

A pitch-perfect summer camp rom-com about two teens with nothing in common who come together to help break up a romance and unexpectedly start one of their own . . .

Salaam, with Love

Salaam, with Love

This heartfelt and humorous YA contemporary follows Dua, who spends the month of Ramadan making unexpected discoveries about family, faith, and first love.

Year on Fire

Year on Fire

What secrets will people keep—or reveal—to protect those they love? This novel, set against the frightening backdrop of an encroaching fire season, sparks reflection about friendship, the allure of romantic love, and loyalty to family. Can a single kiss change everything?

Your Mood: Are you overburdened by other people’s demands and expectations?

YA Mood Reading List Rec: Read a book that lets you escape into a completely different fictional world.

Bound by Firelight

Bound by Firelight

The heart-pounding sequel to Cast in Firelight, perfect for fans of epic, sweepingly romantic fantasy by Sabaa Tahir, Susan Dennard, and Mary E. Pearson.

Castles in Their Bones

Castles in Their Bones

By Laura Sebastian

Coming 01.03.23

A spellbinding story of three princesses and the destiny they were born for: seduction, conquest, and the crown. Immerse yourself in the first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the author of the New York Times bestselling Ash Princess series.

Crimson Reign

Crimson Reign

By Amélie Wen Zhao

Coming 01.17.23

For fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Six of Crows comes the thrilling conclusion to the Blood Heir trilogy. A princess with a dark secret must ally with a con man to liberate her empire from a reign of terror in this epic fantasy retelling of the Anastasia story.

Your Mood: Are you disillusioned with the state of the world?

YA Mood Reading List Rec: Read a contemporary YA fiction book to reenergize and inspire you.

Does My Body Offend You?

Does My Body Offend You?

A timely story of two teenagers who discover the power of friendship, feminism, and standing up for what you believe in, no matter where you come from. A collaboration between two gifted authors writing from alternating perspectives, this compelling novel shines with authenticity, courage, and humor.

Does My Body Offend You?

Does My Body Offend You?

A timely story of two teenagers who discover the power of friendship, feminism, and standing up for what you believe in, no matter where you come from. A collaboration between two gifted authors writing from alternating perspectives, this compelling novel shines with authenticity, courage, and humor.

This Rebel Heart

This Rebel Heart

The Fountains of Silence meets Spinning Silver in this rollicking tale set amid the 1956 Hungarian revolution in post-WWII Communist Budapest from Sydney Taylor Honor winner Katherine Locke.

Vinyl Moon

Vinyl Moon

A teen girl hiding the scars of a past relationship finds home and healing in the words of strong Black writers. A beautiful sophomore novel from a critically acclaimed author and poet that explores how words have the power to shape and uplift our world even in the midst of pain.

Your Mood: Are you going through the motions, bored of your day-to-day routine?

YA Mood Reading List Rec: Read a book that shakes things up with some twisty YA books that will surprise, invigorate, and even scare you.

What We Harvest

What We Harvest

For fans of Wilder Girls comes a nightmarish debut guaranteed to keep you up through the night, about an idyllic small town poisoned by its past, and one girl who must fight the strange disease that’s slowly claiming everyone she loves.

Harley Quinn: Reckoning

Harley Quinn: Reckoning

In this new launch of a trilogy within the DC Icons universe, experience the origin story of a Super-Villain. This is the Harley Quinn backstory fans have been waiting for.

A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

A dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. The dangerous romance and atmospheric setting makes it a perfect read for fans of dark academia.

Enjoy this YA mood reading list? Check out other book nerd book recs here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined