The Best YA Fantasy Books This Season

Fantasy readers, are you looking for your next great escape? Then look no further! We’ve traversed the farthest reaches of the most distant lands to present you with the best YA fantasy books . . . that we could find on our bookshelves. (We’re book nerds. You didn’t really think we’d leave our cozy reading nook, did you?).

Go on your own epic quest by diving into the pages of one of these fantasy tales!

Stardust in Their Veins

Stardust in Their Veins

Immerse yourself in the second book in a fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of the Ash Pricess series. The sequel to Castles in Their Bones is the story of three princesses and the destiny they were born for: seduction, conquest, and the crown.

Spice Road

Spice Road

★THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER★ Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, sixteen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother, whose betrayal is now the country’s greatest threat.

The Wicked Bargain

The Wicked Bargain

El Diablo is in the details in this Latinx pirate fantasy starring a transmasculine nonbinary teen with a mission of revenge, redemption, and revolution.

Lucha of the Night Forest

Lucha of the Night Forest

An edge-of-your-seat fantasy about a girl who will do anything to protect her sister—even if it means striking a dangerous bargain. Dark forces, forgotten magic, and a heart-stopping queer romance make this young adult novel a must-read.

Silver in the Bone

Silver in the Bone

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Lore comes a stunning new Arthurian fantasy—the tale of a teenage girl who seeks her destiny in the cursed ruins of Avalon, driven by love, revenge, and pure adrenaline!

Song of Silver, Flame Like Night

Song of Silver, Flame Like Night

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In a fallen kingdom, one girl carries the key to discovering the secrets of her nation’s past—and unleashing the demons that sleep at its heart. An epic fantasy series inspired by the mythology and folklore of ancient China.

A Hunger of Thorns

A Hunger of Thorns

By Lili Wilkinson

Coming 02.27.24

Be swept away by a lush, witchy tale about forbidden magic and missing girls who don’t need handsome princes to rescue them. Perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood.

Midnight Strikes

Midnight Strikes

By Zeba Shahnaz

Coming 04.16.24

In this explosive fantasy debut, a provincial girl must work with an infuriatingly handsome prince to escape a nightmarish curse that forces them to relive the same night over and over.

Looking for more of the best YA fantasy books? Discover more fantasy titles here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined