[wps_cart_icon]

Martin Luther King Day YA Reading List: New Releases

Every year we are re-inspired to read Nic Stone’s New York Times bestselling book Dear Martin. This Martin Luther King Day we are also diving into these new and upcoming releases by Black authors. Keep scrolling for our official Underlined Martin Luther King Day YA reading list!

New and Upcoming Releases

Bitter

Bitter

From National Book Award finalist Akwaeke Emezi comes a companion novel to the critically acclaimed PET that explores both the importance and cost of social revolution–and how youth lead the way.

Required Reading for the Disenfranchised Freshman

Required Reading for the Disenfranchised Freshman

By Kristen R. Lee

Coming 01.03.23

A striking debut novel about racism on elite college campuses. Fans of Dear White People will embrace this activist-centered contemporary novel about a college freshman grappling with the challenges of attending an elite university with a disturbing racist history, which may not be as distant as it seems.

The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones

The Gilded Ones #2: The Merciless Ones

Fans of The Gilded Ones and Children of Blood and Bone will love the second book in an epic fantasy series about a girl who is the key to saving the empire–or its greatest threat.

Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea

The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Beasts of Prey.

Vinyl Moon

Vinyl Moon

A teen girl hiding the scars of a past relationship finds home and healing in the words of strong Black writers. A beautiful sophomore novel from a critically acclaimed author and poet that explores how words have the power to shape and uplift our world even in the midst of pain.

New in Paperback

Dear Justyce

Dear Justyce

The stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed,  #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. An incarcerated teen writes letters to his best friend about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system.

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones

In this New York Times bestseller named by Teen Vogue as one of the best books of the year, sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

Home Is Not a Country

Home Is Not a Country

From the  acclaimed poet featured on Forbes Africa’s “30 Under 30” list, this powerful novel-in-verse captures one girl, caught between cultures, on an unexpected journey to face the ephemeral girl she might have been. Woven through with moments of lyrical beauty, this is a tender meditation on family, belonging, and home.

Instructions for Dancing

Instructions for Dancing

In this New York Times bestselling romantic page-turner from the author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star, Evie has the power to see other people’s romantic fates—what will happen when she finally sees her own?

Off the Record

Off the Record

The behind-the-scenes access of Almost Famous meets the searing revelations of metoo in this story of a teen journalist who uncovers the scandal of the decade.

This Is My America

This Is My America

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Did you enjoy this Martin Luther King Day YA reading list? Get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined