Book Recommendations for All Your Favorite Halloween Movies

The Halloween season has arrived, and we think it’s one of the best times of the year. Seriously. We love the ghouls, goblins, costumes, and horror films. Here is a list of books like Halloween movies — perfect pairs of some of the best, most frightening, and suspense-filled horror films to keep those late-night reads as spellbinding as possible.

Bad Witch Burning by Jessica Lewis and Hocus Pocus

Bad Witch Burning

Bad Witch Burning

If you’re a fan of witches, raise your wand! In Bad Witch Burning, Katrell uses her psychic abilities to help clients communicate with deceased loved ones. For fans of Lovecraft Country and Candyman comes a witchy story full of Black girl magic as one girl’s dark ability to summon the dead offers her a chance at a new life, while revealing to her an even darker future. In Hocus Pocus, the Sanderson sisters are after our teenage protagonists. Both make for a spell of a good time.

That Weekend by Kara Thomas and The Cabin in the Woods

That Weekend

That Weekend

If you’re into thriller movies like The Cabin in the Woods where a group of friends go on a vacation that goes horribly wrong, then chances are you’ll love That WeekendBoth plots start off quite similar: a group of friends decide to take what they think will be a relaxing vacation out in nature–until something terrible happens. In That Weekend, there’s an added twist: the main character, Claire, has no memory of the past 48 hours and has to find out what happened to her now missing best friends. So what happens next? Well, we don’t believe in spoiling a good thriller, but you’ll need popcorn for this page-turner.

Small Favors by Erin A. Craig and The Village

Small Favors

Small Favors

By Erin A. Craig

Coming 04.02.24

What do M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village and Erin A. Craig’s Small Favors have in common? Plenty! Both are set in a small village. Both villages are plagued by monsters, and they have very specific rules designed to protect people from said monsters. However, in both stories, a girl must risk facing those monsters in order to save the boy she loves. The one big difference? The monsters in Small Favors offer to fulfill the residents’ deepest, grandest desires for just a small favor. However, these seemingly trifling demands hide sinister intentions. We’ll leave it to you to decide which story’s monsters are scarier.

The Lantern’s Ember by Colleen Houck and Sleepy Hollow

The Lantern's Ember

The Lantern's Ember

“The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” is an older tale, but it remains a revered classic for a reason. The headless horseman, the creepy yet enchanting town, and the legend that took on a life of its own have allowed it to become both a literary and a cinematic masterpiece. The Lantern’s Ember is a more fantastical version of the same story. In this iteration, Jack is a Lantern tasked with guarding Otherworld, a realm the witch Ember finds herself attracted to. What ensues is an epic tale of suspense, magic, and romance.

A Lesson in Vengeance by Victoria Lee and Carrie

A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

Carrie, based on the revered classic by Stephen King, is a cautionary tale about what happens when you push someone over the edge. Especially when that someone is a telekinetic. A Lesson in Vengeance is a dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. Both tales are mysteries waiting to be unraveled.

There’s No Way I’d Die First by Lisa Springer and It

There's No Way I'd Die First

There's No Way I'd Die First

The horror classic It has made people fearful of clowns ever since. There’s No Way I’d Die First, one of our favorite books like Halloween movies we love, is a suspenseful tale of a Halloween party gone awry when the It clown hired for the party takes the role a little too seriously.

Hatchet Girls by Diana Rodriguez Wallach and Friday the 13th

Hatchet Girls

Hatchet Girls

If you love to be scared by tales of axe murderers, like the movie Friday the 13th, but wish the villain wielding said axe could be a woman for a change, then you’ll want to read Hatchet Girls by Diana Rodriguez Wallach. Set more than one hundred years after the Lizzie Borden murders, this propulsive, supernatural thriller imagines what might happen if history were to repeat itself today.

Did you enjoy this article on books like Halloween movies? Find other book nerd content here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined