Book Club Guide: American Royals by Katherine McGee

One of our favorite Book Nerd activities is going to book club! Book clubs create community, help us stay on track to get through our TBR pile while also discovering new faves, and allow space to talk for hours on end about our favorite characters. To help with your book club endeavors, we’ve created book club guides for some of our favorite YA titles. This American Royals book club guide will help you get the most out of reading Katherine McGee’s latest bestseller.

If you’re looking for other book club articles, check out 10 Easy Steps to Hosting a Virtual Book Club and don’t forget to tag @getunderlined whenever your book club meets!

American Royals Book Club Guide

You are cordially invited to host an American Royals book club in your library. Below are some questions to get the conversation going.

  1. Does America have its own version of a royal family? What defines “royalty” in our culture? What is it about royalty that fascinates us?
  2. Why is there such an obsession with royal families? What captivates people’s attention so much?
  3. In American Royals, the United States is a monarchy—the first ruler being George Washington. Do you think the royal obsession and paparazzi culture would be in place if this was the case in real life? Or do you think that one of the reasons royals are so fascinating is because the institution of a monarchy is uncommon today?
  4. Beatrice is in line for the throne due to a law that says the eldest child is the heir to the throne, instead of it being the first-born son. Throughout the book, Beatrice struggles with the pressure and sense of duty that comes with being the heir. Do you think it’s fair that this law doesn’t take into account the willingness or preparedness of the eldest child?
  5. Beatrice is not allowed to marry a commoner. Do you think this is reasonable? Why or why not? What does it tell you about the supposedly progressive nature of this monarchy?
  6. Samantha, Beatrice’s sister, is referred to as the “spare,” a backup heir in case something happens to Beatrice. What do you think about this term? If you were in Sam’s shoes would you wish you were the heir? Or is being a part of the royal family enough responsibility as it is?
  7. Jeff, Samantha’s twin, is the prince of the family who everyone seems to be fixated on. Rarely is Jeff referred to as “the spare.” Do you think this is odd?
  8. Nina is a close friend of Sam’s, but she is not royal. Does she find it difficult to enter a world so different from her own? Does being in or associated with the royal family mean giving up at least a part of your right to privacy or anonymity?
  9. At one point in the book, Daphne notes that the Washingtons are one of the youngest dynasties—their history cannot be traced as far back as other families—and yet they are powerful and well known. What makes a monarchy powerful?
  10. Online comments and social media play a large role in the lives of the royal both in the book and in reality. Nina becomes the target of some hateful online comments, one of them being “I don’t know who she is but I hate her.” How did you feel about this when you read it? Why would someone feel they have a right to share this sentiment?

By

What if America had a royal family? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Did you love this American Royals book club guide? Get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 2 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
  1. Mike Raab

    May 5, 2022

    great read

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies May 5, 2022
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
  2. Reagan Williams

    May 5, 2022

    Weird. I never considered that Jeff was never referred to as “the spare”. Maybe because Beatrice was the first ruling queen, it would be contradictory for the spare to be a male?

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies May 5, 2022
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined