[wps_cart_icon]

10 Reasons Why Paperbacks Are Honestly the Best

We love books in all sizes, shapes, and formats, but today we’re here to talk about why paperbacks are seriously awesome.

If you’re not a fan of paperbacks, this list might convince you otherwise. . . .

1. Paperbacks are easy to take with you everywhere.

They fit right into almost any purse or even in your back pocket. With a paperback you never have to be without your book . . . just maybe look up from time to time so you can watch where you’re going.

via GIPHY

2. You can bring more of them with you when you travel.

When you’re packing for a trip you can easily bring even MORE books with you, because paperbacks are smaller and lighter. Pack away, baby.

via GIPHY

3. Paperbacks don’t break the bank.

They cost less, which means you can buy more! Go ahead, treat yourself!

via GIPHY

4. You can fit more of them on your shelves.

They are smaller, so it’s just science. And who doesn’t love science?

via GIPHY

5. It’s easier to lend them to a friend.

It’s a little easier to let go of a paperback (unless it’s your old favorite copy) so letting a friend borrow them is less of a blow than saying goodbye to a hardcover (do people ever give books back anyway?)

via GIPHY

6. They’re easier to read on the DL.

When you’d just rather be reading, they are a lot easier to hide. Never worry about an awkward social situation again!

via GIPHY

7. They don’t have dust jackets.

Jackets are beautiful, but with a paperback you never have to worry about taking the jacket off, damaging it, ripping it. You can live your reading life carefree and unattached. Doesn’t it just make you want to skip?

via GIPHY

8. They are more flexible.

They are bendable, flexible, and they show just the right amount of wear and tear after being read. You can tell how much they’ve been loved, and we love that.

via GIPHY

9. They don’t make that awful spine-cracking noise.

Opening a hardcover and hearing the spine crack makes us cringe every time. With a paperback, you can break open that beautiful book and relax.

via GIPHY

10. They are another edition to collect.

Lastly, paperbacks offer another edition to add to your collection because when you really love a book, you need every version of it! And having every edition of your favorite book is something to celebrate. You go, you!

via GIPHY

And because we’re all about the paperbacks today, here are a few we recommend:

The Darkest Corners

The Darkest Corners

"Gripping from start to finish . . . with twists that left me shocked."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Queen

For fans of Gillian Flynn and Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls...

Tell Me Three Things

Tell Me Three Things

A New York Times Bestseller
 
“Here are three things about this book: (1) It’s . . .  funny and romantic; (2) the mystery at the heart of the story will keep you turning the pages; (3) I have a feeling you’ll be very happy you read it.” —Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Prob...

The Safest Lies

The Safest Lies

From the New York Times bestselling author of All the Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger comes a captivating psychological thriller about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past?
 
Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of suspicion, raised to see danger every...

Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything

Risk everything . . . for love with this #1 New York Times bestseller. 

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is a girl who’s literall...

And I Darken

And I Darken

The New York Times Bestseller!

“Absolutely riveting.” —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Minds

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in ex...

The Third Twin

The Third Twin

If you loved Natasha Preston's THE TWIN, you'll race through this edge-of-your seat thriller about identical twins with a shocking twist.

IT STARTED AS A JOKE.
When they were little, Lexi and her identical twin, Ava, made up a third sister, Alicia. If something broke? Alicia did it. Alicia was always ...

Finding Audrey

Finding Audrey

A ZOELLA Book Club Pick!

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain.

Audrey wears dark glasses all the time, even in the house. She almost never goes out,...

Illuminae

Illuminae

“It certainly filled the Battlestar Galactica–shaped hole in my heart.” Victoria Aveyard, bestselling author of The Red Queen
 
Read the New York Times bestselling blockbuster that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.” The first in an epic sci-fi seri...

The Rules

The Rules

It’s Saw meets I Know What You Did Last Summer in this dark thriller by the New York Times bestselling authors of the Wicked series.
 
Narrated by alternating members of an unreliable group of teens, this riveting thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats. No one is safe, and everyone is a suspect.
...

Why do you love paperbacks? Tag us @GetUnderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
6
Post a comment
6 Likes 10 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
6
  1. Readler2

    Jul 7, 2019

    Paperbacks are my favorite! I just love them for all of these reasons and more

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies Jul 7, 2019
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
  2. LilyRavenclaw

    Sep 9, 2018

    Again, I’m in class and trying not to smile and giggle at the statements so as to conceal the fact that I’m not doing schoolwork XD.

    Please complete the required fields.



    1 Reply Sep 9, 2018
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
    1. e

      LouisStephenson

      Apr 4, 2019

      You can have fun at this best online casino for paypal deposit us , instead of reading some funny things.

      Please complete the required fields.



      0 Replies Apr 4, 2019
      Like
      Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined