[wps_cart_icon]

YA Books to Read if You’re Excited for Queen Charlotte on Netflix

Ever since Bridgerton arrived on Netflix, we’ve been obsessed. The witty banter, historical setting, and super steamy romance left us craving more. Thankfully, Queen Charlotte is coming to Netflix soon—and we can’t wait. We’re hoping for even more gorgeous dresses, handsome men, and royal drama!

If you’re as excited as we are for the Bridgerton spin-off, here are several YA books like Queen Charlotte to tide you over until it hits Netflix.

Castles in Their Bones by Laura Sebastian

Castles in Their Bones

Castles in Their Bones

As a minor princess in Germany, Charlotte had limited prospects until she married King George III. Like Queen Charlotte, Princesses Sophronia, Daphne, and Beatriz are expected to wed the monarchs of neighboring kingdoms and expand their mother’s empire. Get ready for a breathtaking royal fantasy filled with romance, deception, and betrayal. It’s the perfect thing to fill the Bridgerton-sized hole in your heart until Queen Charlotte arrives.

Well, That Was Unexpected by Jesse Q. Sutanto

Well, That Was Unexpected

Well, That Was Unexpected

Queen Charlotte was born in Germany and married King George III after their meddling families arranged the match—much like the characters in this story. It’s also no coincidence that these teenage lovebirds share the royal pair’s names (Sharlot and George) and fall in love despite the odds.

Love & Other Great Expectations by Becky Dean

Love & Other Great Expectations

Love & Other Great Expectations

Can’t get enough of super-cute romances set in England? You’re in luck! This book is about an American girl named Britt who goes to the UK to compete in an epic scavenger hunt. You’ll love all the backstabbing, deception, awkward kisses, and Queen Charlotte vibes in this story!

American Royals by Katharine McGee

American Royals

American Royals

We are a little (okay, very) obsessed with everything Harry, Meghan, and the rest of the royal family do. But have you ever wondered what America would be like if George Washington had become king instead of president? If you love reading about royals, romance, rivalries, and powerful families, you’ll want to binge-read this entire series before Queen Charlotte arrives on Netflix!

Rebel Spy by Veronica Rossi

Rebel Spy

Rebel Spy

The American Revolution happened during the reign of Queen Charlotte and her husband, King George III. This fascinating historical novel gives you a look at the events of this turbulent period from the American side of the pond. Rebel Spy tells the story of a girl named Frannie who poses as a British loyalist while secretly passing information to George Washington’s Culper Spy Ring.

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All by M. T. Anderson, Candace Fleming, Stephanie Hemphill, Lisa Ann Sandell, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Park, and Deborah Hopkinson

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Although King Henry VIII was not married to Queen Charlotte, he was a British monarch who married some pretty memorable women (Anne Boleyn, anyone?). This book contains each wife’s story, from her rise to the throne to her (often deadly) downfall. Inside these pages, you’ll find all the dirty details of the conspiracies and obsessions that plagued Henry’s court!

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Queen Charlotte was a fashion icon in her day, and she was an early champion of the Regency-era dresses that we all know and love. Author Kelly Jones adds a splash of magic and a dash of mystery to the time period in this irresistible novel about a teenager who becomes a spy. Humor, fashion, romance, and espionage—it doesn’t get any better than this!

Darcy Swipes Left by Jane Austen and Courtney Carbone

Darcy Swipes Left

Darcy Swipes Left

Queen Charlotte puts a modern spin on a historical story, which we love. You’ll find the same humorous and out-of-context vibe in this quirky retelling of Pride and Prejudice. If you’ve ever wondered what Jane Austen’s beloved story would be like if everyone had cell phones, you need to pick up a copy!

Did you enjoy this list of YA books like Queen Charlotte on Netflix? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined