[wps_cart_icon]

What to Read if You Already Failed your New Year’s Resolution

Remember New Year’s Eve, that night when you were so full of determination to start anew in 2023? You declared your New Year’s resolution with gusto, absolutely determined to make this your year to finally get in shape, see the world, fall in love, organize that TBR pile, or actually read that entire TBR pile. Yet, as January 1st has turned into January 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th . . . has your stick-to-it energy waned? Have you already failed your New Year’s resolution before January is even over?

You’re not alone, but this doesn’t have to be the final failure. Here are the books we recommend to help get you back on track.

Already slacking on your workouts?

Get your heartrate up with a thriller like The Black Queen.

The Black Queen

The Black Queen

Nova Albright was going to be the first Black homecoming queen at Lovett High—but now she’s dead. Murdered on coronation night. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and The Other Black Girl will love this unputdownable thriller.

Still haven’t planned that big trip yet?

Get inspired with a book set in an international locale, like Kisses and Croissants.

Kisses and Croissants

Kisses and Croissants

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s Emily in Paris.

Have you already given up on love?

Find hope again with an uplifting romance like Friday I’m in Love.

Friday I'm in Love

Friday I'm in Love

It’s too late for a Sweet Sixteen, but what if Mahalia had a coming-out party? A novel about finding yourself, falling in love, and celebrating what makes you you. Friday I’m in Love is the perfect love letter to romantic comedies, sweet sixteen blowouts, Black joy, and queer pride to lift your spirits.

Struggling to save more money than you spend?

Keep your eyes on the prize with a book about an ambitious main character, like Celine in Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute.

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute

Highly Suspicious and Unfairly Cute

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Brown Sisters trilogy, comes a laugh-out-loud story about a quirky content creator and a clean-cut athlete testing their abilities to survive the great outdoors—and each other—in order to win a grand prize.

Is your goal to get straight A’s this year already feeling out of reach?

Commiserate with the characters in The Ivies (though we don’t advise resorting to their extreme methods for academic excellence).

The Ivies

The Ivies

Enroll in this boarding school thriller about a group of prep school elites who would kill to get into the college of their dreams . . . literally.

Want to learn a new skill but you’re coming up blank?

Perhaps reading Instructions for Dancing will inspire you.

Instructions for Dancing

Instructions for Dancing

Evie has the power to see other people’s romantic fates. As she tries to understand her powers, she finds herself at a dance studio learning ballroom dance with the kind of boy she never thought she’d fall for. What will happen when she finally sees her own romantic fate?

Still haven’t tried a new recipe yet?

Perhaps all the baking in Love from Scratch will give you some ideas.

Love from Scratch

Love from Scratch

Rival interns with sizzling chemistry in and out of the kitchen? That’s a recipe for love.

Is your TBR pile still a mess?

Take a break from your problems by escaping to a fantasy realm, like the magical world in Spice Road.

Spice Road

Spice Road

The first book in an epic fantasy series set in an Arabian-inspired land with secret spice magic. Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, sixteen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother, whose betrayal is now the country’s greatest threat.

Are you adding more books to your TBR instead of making the stack shorter?

Challenge yourself to read just one book from your pile. We’ll be reading Girl in Pieces.

Girl in Pieces

Girl in Pieces

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow’s debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It’s a story you won’t be able to look away from.

Still feeling down about not yet meeting your goals?

Be kind to yourself with positive affirmations, like those found in Jenna Ortega’s book, It’s All Love.

It's All Love

It's All Love

An empowering collection written by Jenna Ortega, the award-winning actress starring in the hit Netflix series Wednesday. These deeply personal stories and quotes are accompanied by beautiful illustrations that explore Jenna’s struggles with depression, experiences falling in—and out of—love, the loss of close family members, and growing up Latina in Hollywood.

Did you find something new to read if you already failed your New Year’s resolution? Find more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 1 Comment
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
  1. nadia vertlib

    Jan 1, 2023

    Awesome recs!

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies Jan 1, 2023
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined