YA Books to Read if You Love Gossip Girl

Gossip Girl is getting a reboot on HBO! The iconic show is being updated for 2021, and we can’t wait to watch. We’re ready for more private school shenanigans, more backstabbing and betrayal, and all the relationship drama. Did you love the original show? Are you excited about the reboot? Where can you get a reading list for Gossip Girl fans? That’s a secret we will tell. Come sit with us here on the steps and we’ll reveal our favorite YA books with a Gossip Girl vibe. XOXO!

I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre

Like Gossip Girl, I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre features an ensemble cast, is set in New York City, and has an opposites-attract romance. When a group of friends enters a film festival competition, it’s partly a scheme to get two squabbling members of their squad to realize that they’re perfect for each other.

I Think I Love You

I Think I Love You

By Auriane Desombre

A YA contemporary rom com about two girls who start as rivals but after a twist of events, end up falling for one another--at least they think so. A pitch perfect queer romance--and it's a paperback original!

Arch-nemeses Emma, a die-hard romantic, and more-practical minded Sophia find themselves competing against one another for a coveted first-prize trip to a film festival in Los Angeles . . . what happens if their rivalry turns ...

Influence by Sara Shepard and Lilia Buckingham

A lot has changed since Gossip Girl first aired in the 2000s. Smart phones replaced flip phones and social media has become an essential part of our lives. Influence by Sara Shepard and Lilia Buckingham follows a group of young vloggers and influencers navigating fame in the 2020s. One thing that hasn’t changed? The faster you rise, the harder you fall. . . .

Influence

Influence

By Lilia Buckingham

If you loved We Were Liars, be the first to read this twisty new mystery that dives into the world of teen influencers from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars Sara Shepard and seventeen-year-old actress and social media personality Lilia Buckingham. 

After a video she makes goes viral, everyone knows Delilah Rollins. And now that she's in LA, Delilah's standing on the edge of so...

The Ivies by Alexa Donne

The students of Gossip Girl’s Constance Billard School have nothing on the cutthroat clique in The Ivies by Alexa Donne. Applying for college can be stressful, but for a group of girls called the Ivies, the competition turns deadly. As all Gossip Girl fans know, when you challenge a queen bee, you’re going to get stung.

The Ivies

The Ivies

By Alexa Donne

Enroll in this boarding school thriller about a group of prep school elites who would kill to get into the college of their dreams...literally.

"The Plastics meet the Heathers in this murder mystery about ruthless Ivy League ambition." -Kirkus Reviews
 
Everyone knows the Ivies: the most coveted universities in the United States. Far more important are the Ivies. The Ivies at Claflin Academy, t...

Killer Content by Kiley Roache

Killer Content has a story for you: six famous TikTokers + one beachfront Malibu mansion + a dead body in the infinity pool = one amazing read. Add some cryptic messages to the mix, and watch the drama unfold.

Killer Content

Killer Content

By Kiley Roache

Knives Out meets One of Us is Lying! In this paperback original thriller a group of famous TikTokers begin turning on each other when one member of the group is found dead at their beachfront Malibu mansion.

35 million followers. One dead body.


The six teenagers who make up the Lit Lair have it made. A beachfront mansion, millions of followers, stunning good looks, and sponso...

On Sale 11.30.21

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

A group of high school students with secrets and a blogger ready to expose them all. What could possibly go wrong? In One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus, the blogger ends up dead and everyone’s a suspect. If you’ve read One of Us Is Lying, be sure to check out One of Us Is Next, the second installment in the series about a deadly game of truth or dare.

One of Us Is Lying

One of Us Is Lying

By Karen M. McManus

Streaming soon on Peacock, the television series event starring Cooper van Grootel, Annalisa Cochrane, Chibuikem Uche, Marianly Tejada, and Mark McKenna!

Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (Entertainment Weekly) in this “flat-out addictive” (RT Book Reviews) story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.

 

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart features a tight-knit group of friends who call themselves the Liars and are bound together by a terrible secret that Cady can’t quite remember. Gossip Girl once said that while you can’t choose your family, you can choose your friends. Maybe she should have reminded us to choose wisely. . . .

We Were Liars Deluxe Edition

We Were Liars Deluxe Edition

By E. Lockhart

The New York Times bestseller We Were Liars is now available as a not-to-be-missed hardcover deluxe edition! Whether you know how it ends (shh . . . don’t tell!) or have let too many seasons go by without discovering the truth about the Liars for yourself, you will want to get your hands on the exclusive new content in this deluxe edition.

And act fast: the first printing is signed by the author!

A beau...

When You Were Everything by Ashley Woodfolk

Gossip Girl once said that Serena and Blair did besties better than anyone. Friends and frenemies, competitors and confidantes, these two were often at odds but always found their way back together. When You Were Everything by Ashley Woodfolk takes a look at a female friendship that imploded. Can Cleo and Layla move past their differences and rebuild their relationship?

When You Were Everything

When You Were Everything

By Ashley Woodfolk

For fans of Nina LaCour's We Are Okay and Adam Silvera's History Is All You Left Me, this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting novel follows one sixteen-year-old girl's friend breakup through two concurrent timelines--ultimately proving that even endings can lead to new beginnings.

"Stunning." --Nic Stone, bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

You can't rewr...

The Year I Stopped Trying by Katie Heaney

Gossip Girl said it best: “Sometimes all it takes is a little key to open the door to the wild side.” In The Year I Stopped Trying by Katie Heaney, Mary stops looking for the meaning of life in her GPA and starts exploring outside the library.

The Year I Stopped Trying

The Year I Stopped Trying

By Katie Heaney

Booksmart meets The Perks of Being a Wallflower in this novel of overachieving, existential crises, growing up, and coming out, from the author of Girl Crushed and Never Have I Ever.

Mary is having an existential crisis. She's a good student, she never gets in trouble, and she is searching for the meaning of life. She always thought she'd find it in a perfect score on the SATs. But by junior year, Mary is...

On Sale 11.16.21

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Underlined