Books to Read if You're Excited for The Little Mermaid Movie

We are so excited to see the new The Little Mermaid movie! With Halle Baily as Ariel, Melissa McCarthy as Ursula, and Awkwafina as Scuttle, this is one movie we don’t want to miss! We’re getting into the “under the sea” spirit with this list of books we think you should read based on your favorite character from The Little Mermaid. So let’s dive on into this list of books like The Little Mermaid!

If Ariel is your favorite character, we recommend Skin of the Sea by Natasha Bowen, and the sequel, Soul of the Deep!

Just as Ariel gets into trouble for rescuing a human, so does Simi in this must-read Black mermaid fantasy series.

Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and anyone who can't wait for the live-action The Litt...

Soul of the Deep

Soul of the Deep

The highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Skin of the Sea, in which the world must pay the price for one mermaid’s choice, and a dark force reverberates across realms. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and those eagerly anticipating the live-action film adaptation of The Little Merm...

If Ursula is your favorite character, we recommend Those We Drown by Amy Goldsmith.

Poor unfortunate souls aboard a ship, dark secrets lurking everywhere, and prices people aren’t willing to pay? This sounds like an ocean-drenched, atmospheric horror that Ursula would live for!

Those We Drown

Those We Drown

An ocean-drenched, atmospheric horror debut! Liv's best friend disappears on their first night aboard their dream semester-at-sea program—but is he really sick, like everyone says, or is something darker lurking beneath the water?

It should have been the trip of a lifetime.

When Liv lands an all-expenses-paid oppor...

If Prince Eric is your favorite character, we recommend The Isles of the Gods by Amie Kaufman.

We know Prince Eric would love reading this action-packed adventure on the high seas. The tale features magic, a prince, and two complete strangers falling in love—now, why does that sound familiar . . . ?

The Isles of the Gods

The Isles of the Gods

Looking for a sweeping summer read? Magic, romance, and slumbering gods clash in this riveting romantasy about a seafaring girl and a playboy prince who band together in a precarious journey. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Aurora Cycle and the Illuminae Files.

Selly has salt water in her veins. So when her fa...

If Flounder is your favorite character, we recommend Picture-Perfect Boyfriend by Becky Dean.

We all know Flounder is one big cinnamon roll, which is why we think he’d love a good, light-hearted romcom about a girl falling in love with her not-so-fake boyfriend on a Hawaiian beach vacation.

Picture-Perfect Boyfriend

Picture-Perfect Boyfriend

Two strangers, one tropical island, and lots of lies in this funny beach romance from the author of Love & Other Great Expectations!

Aspiring nature photographer Kenzie Reed just can’t get her straitlaced family of optometrists to take her art seriously. She’s resigned to putting aside her dreams and accepting t...

If Flotsam and Jetsam are your favorite characters, we recommend Haunting the Deep by Adriana Mather.

Those eels are a bit on the creepy side, so we think they’d totally be into this oceanic horror that combines the Salem Witch Trials, the Titanic, and the sass of Mean Girls.

Haunting the Deep

Haunting the Deep

The delicious horror of Ransom Riggs and the sass of Mean Girls meets Titanic in this follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller How to Hang a Witch, in which a contemporary teen finds herself a passenger on the famous “ship of dreams”—a story made all the more fascinating because the ...

If Sebastian is your favorite character, we recommend The Wicked Bargain by Gabe Cole Novoa.

We think Sebastian could totally relate to Mar’s attempts to reverse a wicked bargain made by his father. After all, we know Sebastian would do anything to undo the wicked bargain Ariel made with Ursula.

The Wicked Bargain

The Wicked Bargain

El Diablo is in the details in this Latinx pirate fantasy starring a transmasculine nonbinary teen with a mission of revenge, redemption, and revolution--now in paperback!

On Mar León de la Rosa's sixteenth birthday, el Diablo comes calling. Mar is a transmasculine nonbinary teen pirate hiding a magical ability to manipu...

If Scuttle is your favorite character, we recommend The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

Scuttle may be a bit of a bird brain sometimes, but she’s also the eyes in the skies, and the first one to report Ursula’s trickery to the rest of the group. We like to think Scuttle would enjoy reading this Castle Cove mystery while collecting “evidence” like dinglehoppers and snarfblats.

The Agathas

The Agathas

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks they know what happened. But they're wrong. Two unlikely friends come together to solve the case in this fast-paced, fun, modern Agatha Christie inspired thriller.

"Part Agatha Chri...

Did you enjoy this list of books like The Little Mermaid? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined