Perfect Books for a BFF Book Swap

July 30 is a very special day: it’s the International Day of Friendship! A day to celebrate all your friends, near and far. What better way to celebrate than sharing a favorite book with your BFF? Maybe you and your friend(s) could do a book exchange, in which you each pick a book to swap and discuss. In case you need some BFF book-spiration, check out our roundup of the perfect book selections for a best friend book exchange!

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Does your bestie have a hunger for social justice? Then Dear Martin is the ideal pick for your book exchange. It’s sure to inspire a fruitful discussion after reading!

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

"A must-read!” –...

Girl Crushed by Katie Heaney

You need not have a crush on your BFF to both enjoy this great YA novel by Katie Heaney. Girlfriends Quinn and Jamie break up. But since they were best friends before they dated, Quinn finds herself not only missing Jamie her girlfriend but Jamie her friend, too.

Girl Crushed

Girl Crushed

Leah on the Offbeat meets We Are Okay in this pitch-perfect queer romance about falling in love and never quite falling out of it--heartbreak, unexpected new crushes, and all.

Before Quinn Ryan was in love with Jamie Rudawski, she loved Jamie Rudawski, who was her best friend. But when Jamie dumps Quinn a month be...

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon

Perhaps your BFF loves to read the latest, hottest books as soon as they come out! If that’s the case, then you should definitely give them Instructions for Dancing in your exchange. This hotly anticipated, instant bestseller from Nicola Yoon will be all anyone’s talking about all summer. (Just be sure to give your bestie some tissues when you hand over the book—this one’s a tearjerker!)

Instructions for Dancing

Instructions for Dancing

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A charming, wholehearted love story that's sure to make readers swoon."—Entertainment Weekly

"Nicola Yoon writes from the heart in this beautiful love story."—Good Morning America

“It’s like an emotional gut punch—so ...

A Lesson in Vengeance by Victoria Lee

Maybe your bestie can’t get enough of suspense, witchcraft, and twisty thrillers. If that’s the case, A Lesson in Vengeance is the perfect novel for your book swap. But first make sure your BFF doesn’t scare easily. . . .

A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

By Victoria Lee

Coming 08.09.22

For fans of Wilder Girls and Ninth House, comes a dark, twisty, atmospheric thriller about a boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past.

Felicity Morrow is back at the Dalloway School. Perched in the Catskill Mountains the centuries-old, ivy-covered campus ...

Off the Record by Camryn Garrett

If your best friend loves contemporary YA books and is the kind of person who misses learning when school is out, you might want to gift them Off the Record for the swap. This engaging book follows Josie, a seventeen-year-old journalist who stumbles across a #MeToo story too explosive to keep quiet.

Off the Record

Off the Record

The behind-the-scenes access of Almost Famous meets the searing revelations of metoo in this story of a teen journalist who uncovers the scandal of the decade.

Ever since seventeen-year-old Josie Wright can remember, writing has been her identity, the thing that grounds her when everything else is a garbage fire. So when she wi...

Prom House by Chelsea Mueller

For the BFF who can’t get enough of slasher films, no matter how scary they are, Prom House it is! This terrifying, fast-paced YA novel will have your bestie reading well into the night—because it’s too scary to put down before figuring out whodunit.

Prom House

Prom House

It's the season to scream . . . Prom turns deadly in this unputdownable thriller for fans of Halloween Kills and Fear Street.

A KILLER AFTERPARTY . . .

When Kylie walks into the gorgeous beach house, it’s a dream come true. She still can’t believe she talked her parents into letting her spend the ...

Radha & Jai’s Recipe for Romance by Nisha Sharma

If you and your BFF love trading romance stories and gushing over all the swoon-worthy moments, look no further than Radha & Jai’s Recipe for Romance. When romance is in the title, you know you’re in for a treat!

Radha & Jai's Recipe for Romance

Radha & Jai's Recipe for Romance

To All the Boys I Loved Before meets World of Dance in this delectable love story that combines food, dance, and a hint of drama to cook up the perfect romance.

Radha is on the verge of becoming one of the greatest kathak dancers in the world . . . until a family betrayal costs her the biggest competition of her life. No...

Stranger Things: Rebel Robin by A. R. Capetta

Is your BFF a big Netflix fan? Pick up this official Stranger Things novel featuring everyone’s favorite season 3 breakout star, Robin. This story’s got it all: Robin’s trademark sarcasm, a coming-of-age story, and of course, the 1980s setting that makes Stranger Things such a nostalgic treat.

Stranger Things: Rebel Robin

Stranger Things: Rebel Robin

Discover the backstory of new Stranger Things fan favorite Robin--the perfect read for anyone looking forward to devouring the fourth season on Netflix—now available as a paperback!

High school is a monster, and it's eating everyone Robin knows. It's the beginning of sophomore year, and Robin's Odd Squad friends couple up...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined