Gift Guide: The Best YA Books for Adults

Seasons readings, Book Nerds! We’ve made a list and checked it twice for your favorite adult Book Nerd (even if that person is you!). From BookTok sensation We Were Liars to Nic Stone’s Dear Martin, keep scrolling for the best YA books for adults. 

The best YA books for adults: Coming of Age

We Were Liars

We Were Liars

A modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. Don’t miss the eagerly anticipated prequel, Family of Liars, available May 2022!

You'd Be Home Now

You'd Be Home Now

From the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces comes a stunning novel that Vanity Fair calls “impossibly moving” and “suffused with light”. In this raw, deeply personal story, a teenaged girl struggles to find herself amidst the fallout of her brother’s addiction in a town ravaged by the opioid crisis.

The best YA books for adults: Sci-fi and Fantasy

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse . . . Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this New York Times best-selling original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea

The instant New York Times best-selling must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Beasts of Prey.

The best YA books for adults: Romance

American Royals

American Royals

What if America had a royal family? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We! Check out the sequels: American Royals: Majesty and American Royals: Rivals.

Instructions for Dancing

Instructions for Dancing

In this New York Times best-selling romantic page-turner from the author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star, Evie has the power to see other people’s romantic fates—what will happen when she finally sees her own?

The best YA books for adults: Thriller

A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

A dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. The dangerous romance and atmospheric setting makes it a perfect read for fans of dark academia.

You'll Be the Death of Me

You'll Be the Death of Me

From the author of One of Us Is Lying comes a brand-new pulse-pounding thriller. It’s Ferris Bueller’s Day Off with murder when three old friends relive an epic ditch day, and it goes horribly—and fatally—wrong. You won’t want to miss this instant New York Times best-seller.

The best YA books for adults: Horror

Escape Room

Escape Room

There’s no getting away from this unputdownable thriller about teens being held captive in an escape room where the stakes are all too real. Perfect for spooky season!

Room Service

Room Service

Celebrating a birthday isn’t fun when there’s a killer on the loose in this scream-worthy read from the author of Escape Room.

The best YA books for adults: Contemporary

Chlorine Sky

Chlorine Sky

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning #1 New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist.

Did you enjoy this article on the best YA books for adults? Get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined