[wps_cart_icon]

Author Julie Buxbaum’s Top Five Tips on How to Become a Writer

So you want to become a writer? Of course you do! That’s why you’re here. The question is, HOW?! New York Times bestselling author Julie Buxbaum is letting us in on her five secret tips.

1. Read everything you can get your hands on, in every genre imaginable, including but not limited to books, the backs of cereal boxes, movie posters, and the fine print. Words are your friends. Collect them as such.

2. Read like a writer, not like a reader. That means read critically, slowly, carefully. Do not simply marinate in good work, but step back and pretend you are peering over the writer’s shoulder. If something is working for you, figure out why. Conversely, when it’s not, figure out why. If you love a character, investigate how a writer manipulated you into falling for them. When you aren’t taken with a plot, dissect the exact moment the author lost you.

3. Self-identify as a writer long before you are published. I was just as good a writer the day before I got my first book deal as I was the day after. Calling yourself a writer gives you the space and permission to make writing a priority in your life.

4. Sit down on your tuchus (or if you are one of those standing desk types, bless you, go forth and stand) and start writing. Then revise. Write some more. Revise again.

5. Repeat 1 to 4, but particularly number 4, ad infinitum.

Hope and Other Punch Lines

Hope and Other Punch Lines

The New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things and What to Say Next delivers a poignant and hopeful novel about resilience and reinvention, first love and lifelong friendship, the legacies of loss, and the stories we tell ourselves in order to survive.

Tell Me Three Things

Tell Me Three Things

A New York Times Bestseller

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

 
Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, t...

What to Say Next

What to Say Next

"What to Say Next reminds readers that hope can be found in unexpected places." –Bustle

From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. Nicola Yoon, the bestselling au...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 2 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
  1. TeamU

    webhostnews

    Jul 7, 2019

    I help my friend because he wants to become a story writer. so I am searching for tips about story writer for my friend. this page useful for me, so I am sharing to this for my friend. thank you for tips about become a writer.

    webhostnews

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies Jul 7, 2019
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
  2. TeamU

    unikyky25

    May 5, 2019

    Great! I always need advice on writing!!!!

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies May 5, 2019
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined