[wps_cart_icon]

Underlined’s Official Back to School Reading List

School is back! Whether you’re headed back to the classroom this year, or you’re continuing with virtual studies, these books are here to keep you company every step of the way. So, as you’re gathering your back-to-school supplies, make sure to add a few of these books to your list. Check out our official back to school reading list!

Enjoy checking these back to school titles off your TBR list? Find more reading lists here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

The Agathas

The Agathas

By Kathleen Glasgow, Liz Lawson

Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks they know what happened. But they’re wrong. Two unlikely friends come together to solve the case in this fast-paced, fun, modern Agatha Christie inspired thriller.

The Agathas

The Agathas

By Kathleen Glasgow, Liz Lawson

Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks they know what happened. But they’re wrong. Two unlikely friends come together to solve the case in this fast-paced, fun, modern Agatha Christie inspired thriller.

The Dragon's Promise

The Dragon's Promise

By Elizabeth Lim

From the New York Times Bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes comes the thrilling next adventure! A journey to the kingdom of dragons, a star-crossed love, and a cursed pearl with the power to mend the world or break it… Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy.

Girl in Pieces

Girl in Pieces

By Kathleen Glasgow

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

By Erika L. Sánchez

A “stunning” (America Ferrera) YA novel about a teenager coming to terms with losing her sister and finding herself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican American home—from the author of Crying in the Bathroom

Nothing More to Tell

Nothing More to Tell

By Karen M. McManus

Four years ago, Brynn left Saint Ambrose School following the shocking murder of her favorite teacher—a story that made headlines after the teacher’s body was found by three Saint Ambrose students in the woods behind their school. The case was never solved. Now that Brynn is moving home and starting her dream internship at a true-crime show, she’s determined to find out what really happened.

On the Subject of Unmentionable Things

On the Subject of Unmentionable Things

By Julia Walton

A girl rewrites sex education, one viral post at a time, in this fiercely honest and delightfully awkward novel from the award-winning author of Words on Bathroom Walls.

Required Reading for the Disenfranchised Freshman

Required Reading for the Disenfranchised Freshman

By Kristen R. Lee

Coming 01.03.23

A striking debut novel about a college freshman grappling with the challenges of attending an elite university with a disturbing racist history, which may not be as distant as it seems.

Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea

By Natasha Bowen

The must-read Black mermaid fantasy series that #1 NYT bestselling author Nicola Yoon calls “epic and original,” in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Beasts of Prey.

Spells Like Teen Spirit

Spells Like Teen Spirit

By Kate M. Williams

Don’t go back to school without reading the finale of the action-packed Babysitter’s Coven series! Get ready for one final witchy adventure with the characters you love, their wacky fashion choices, hordes of demons, and plenty of magic spells.

The Year I Stopped Trying

The Year I Stopped Trying

By Katie Heaney

For all the over-achievers out there, this book is for you! When a straight-A student forgets to turn in an assignment, she expects the world to end—but it doesn’t. Life goes on as usual. If you struggle with perfectionism, then this novel is a must-read!

You'd Be Home Now

You'd Be Home Now

By Kathleen Glasgow

It’s no mystery that Kathleen Glasgow writes amazing and heavy-hitting YA novels. Pick up her latest story about small towns, secrets, drug addiction, and a teenage girl discovering who she is. If you loved Girl in Pieces and How to Make Friends with the Dark, add this book to your back-to-school TBR!

You'll Be the Death of Me

You'll Be the Death of Me

By Karen M. McManus

Before you plan a ditch day, read this book. It will make you think twice about going full “Ferris Bueller.” When three friends decide to skip school, their impromptu fun turns deadly when they witness a murder. Now, the teens must unravel their secrets, lies, and connection to the victim to avoid becoming the prime suspects in his death.

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
2
Post a comment
2 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
2

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined