New YA Fantasy and Sci-Fi Books: Summer 2024

As your book nerd bestie, we’ll never let a new release pass without letting you know. Check out this summer’s highly anticipated new YA fantasy and sci-fi books!

Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A teenager on the run from his past finds the family he never knew existed and the community he never knew he needed at an HBCU for the young, Black, and magical. Enroll in this fresh fantasy debut unlike anything you’ve seen before.

Liar's Test

Liar's Test

A gripping YA fantasy with a deadly contest to win a crown, a fierce heroine determined to right the wrongs done to her people, and a smoldering love story that could change everything . . .

Moonstorm

Moonstorm

In a society where conformity is valued above all else, a teen girl training to become an Imperial pilot is forced to return to her rebel roots to save her world in this adrenaline-fueled sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of Iron Widow and Skyward!

Storm: Dawn of a Goddess

Storm: Dawn of a Goddess

Before she was the super hero Storm of Marvel’s X-Men, she was Ororo of Cairo—a teenaged thief on the streets of Egypt, until her growing powers catch the eye of a villain who steals people’s souls. An epic origin story that will blow you away, from the New York Times bestselling author of Monday’s Not Coming.

The Isles of the Gods

The Isles of the Gods

Magic, romance, and slumbering gods clash in this riveting fantasy duology that spans gangsters’ dens, forgotten temples, and the high seas from the New York Times bestselling author of the Aurora Cycle and the Illuminae Files.

Silver in the Bone

Silver in the Bone

INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the critically acclaimed author of Lore comes a stunning contemporary fantasy inspired by Celtic lore—the tale of a teenage girl who seeks her destiny in the cursed ruins of Avalon, driven by love, revenge, and pure adrenaline!

Starlings

Starlings

In the wake of her father’s death, a teen girl discovers a side of her family she didn’t know existed, and is pulled into a dark—and ancient—bargain she is next in line to fulfill. A dark YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of House of Hollow and Small Favors.

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

By Array

Crack open your spell book and enter the world of the illustrious Galileo Academy for the Extraordinary. There’s been a murder on campus, and it’s up to the students of Galileo to solve it. Follow 18 authors and 18 students as they puzzle out the clues and find the guilty party.

Poison in Their Hearts

Poison in Their Hearts

Immerse yourself in the final book in the epic fantasy trilogy from the author of the New York Times bestselling Ash Pricess series. Follow three princesses and the destiny they were born for: seduction, conquest, and the crown.

First Test Graphic Novel

First Test Graphic Novel

By Tamora Pierce

Coming 07.02.24

This eagerly awaited graphic novel adaptation of the iconic fantasy novel First Test reimagines the classic knight’s tale, but with a twist. In a world not quite ready for her ambition, a determined girl seeks knighthood and finds herself on a mission to prove it.

The Mirror of Beasts

The Mirror of Beasts

By Alexandra Bracken

Coming 07.30.24

#1 New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Bracken is back with the electrifying sequel to SILVER IN THE BONE, in which fresh betrayal ignites ancient magic to wake the dead, and a cursed girl with no magic of her own must put the past to rest.

House of Roots and Ruin

House of Roots and Ruin

By Erin A. Craig

Coming 07.30.24

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A modern masterpiece, this is a classic Gothic thriller-fantasy from bestselling author Erin A. Craig, about doomed love, menacing ambition, and the ghosts that haunt us forever.

In a manor by the sea, one sister is still cursed.

The Girl with No Reflection

The Girl with No Reflection

By Keshe Chow

Coming 08.06.24

A young woman chosen as the crown prince’s bride must travel to the royal palace to meet her new husband—but her world is shaken when she discovers the dark truth the royal family has been hiding for centuries—in this lush fantasy debut perfect for fans of Song of Silver, Flame Like Night and Violet Made of Thorns.

Zombie Apocalypse Running Club

Zombie Apocalypse Running Club

By Carrie Mac

Coming 08.13.24

When twins Eira and Soren escape from their survivalist home into a world overcome by zombies, there’s only one way to stay alive: run!

If you love these sizzling novels, check out the Underlined book page here, and let us know what you’re reading at @getunderlined.

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined