New YA Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books: Summer 2023

As your book nerd bestie, we’ll never let a new release pass without letting you know! Check out this summer’s highly anticipated new YA fantasy and sci-fi books!

If you love these sizzling novels, check out the Underlined book page here, and let us know what you’re reading at @getunderlined.

The Isles of the Gods

The Isles of the Gods

By Amie Kaufman

Looking for a sweeping summer read? Magic, romance, and slumbering gods clash in this riveting romantasy about a seafaring girl and a playboy prince who band together in a precarious journey. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Aurora Cycle and the Illuminae Files.

Selly has salt water in her veins. So when her father leaves her high and dry in the port of Kirkpool, she has no intention of riding out the winter ...

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

By

Crack open your spell book and enter the world of the illustrious Galileo Academy for the Extraordinary. There's been a murder on campus, and it's up to the students of Galileo to solve it. Follow 18 authors and 18 students as they puzzle out the clues and find the guilty party.

Professor of Magical History Septimius Dropwort has just been murdered, and now everyone at the Galileo Academy for the Extraordinary is a suspect...

Starlings

Starlings

By Amanda Linsmeier

A dark YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of House of Hollow and Small Favors. In the wake of her father's death, a teen girl discovers a side of her family she didn't know existed, and is pulled into a dark—and ancient—bargain she is next in line to fulfill.

Kit’s father always told her he had no family, but his sudden death revealed the truth. Now Kit has a grandmother she never knew she had—Ag...

House of Roots and Ruin

House of Roots and Ruin

By Erin A. Craig

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A modern masterpiece, this is a classic Gothic thriller-fantasy from bestselling author Erin A. Craig, about doomed love, menacing ambition, and the ghosts that haunt us forever.

In a manor by the sea, one sister is still cursed.


Despite dreams of adventures far beyond the Salann shores, seventeen-year-old Verity Thaumas has remained at her family’s estate,...

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined