The Official Anti-Valentine’s Day Reading List

Do lovebirds make you want to scream? Check out this list of thrillers, and join us in an anti–Valentine’s Day reading marathon.

If you love this YA reading list about anti-Valentine’s Day books, check out other book nerd reading lists here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

The Cheerleaders

The Cheerleaders

By Kara Thomas

"Sharp, brilliantly plotted, and totally engrossing."--KAREN M. MCMANUS, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"A crafty, dark, and disturbing story."--KATHLEEN GLASGOW, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces

"A little bit Riverdale and a little bit Veronica Mars."--RILEY SAGER, bestselling author...

Buy
Escape Room

Escape Room

By Maren Stoffels

There's no getting away from this unputdownable thriller about teens being held captive in an escape room where the stakes are all too real. Perfect for spooky season!

All they need to do is get out.

Alissa, Sky, Miles and Mint are ready for a night of fun at the Escape Room.
It's simple.
Choose their game.
Get locked in a room.
Find the clues.
Solve the puzzles.
And escape the room in 60 minutes.
...

Buy
The Fear

The Fear

By Natasha Preston

The instant New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller!
 
Hot on the heels of the New York Times bestsellers The Twin and The Lake, the undisputed queen of YA thrillers is back.
 
Don't be afraid. Be terrified.


It’s just a stupid meme that’s going around their small fishing town in the dead of winter—peo...

Buy
Fright Night

Fright Night

By Maren Stoffels

Spending the night in the woods with your friends is not a good idea in this scary thriller by the author of ESCAPE ROOM.

Sofia isn't so sure about Fright Night. When she suggested it to her friends, she was only thinking of it as an excuse to get closer to Dylan. Now that it's happening, she's worried that spending the night in a deserted forest is a bad idea.

But it's totally safe--there's even a safe word if things get...

Buy
Horror Hotel

Horror Hotel

By Victoria Fulton, Faith McClaren

This addictive YA horror about a group of teen ghost hunters who spend the night in a haunted LA hotel is The Blair Witch Project for the TikTok generation.

"Fast-paced and freaky."—Kendare Blake, #1 NYT bestselling author of All These Bodies


Enjoy your stay...
 
When the YouTube-famous Ghost Gang—Chrissy, Chase, Emma, and Kiki—...

Buy
It Will End Like This

It Will End Like This

By Kyra Leigh

"If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don't." —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders

For fans of They Wish They Were Us and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.


Charlotte lost her mother...

Buy
A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

By Victoria Lee

A dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. The dangerous romance and atmospheric setting makes it a perfect read for fans of dark academia.

Felicity Morrow is back at the Dalloway School. Perched in the Catskill Mountains, the centuries-old, ivy-covered campus was home until the tragic death of her girl...

Buy
A Night to Die For

A Night to Die For

By Lisa Schroeder

When a boy finds a girl's body in the ditch on prom night...he becomes the primary suspect in her murder.
 
Prom dreams. Prom Screams.


Mario Woods is looking forward to one normal night before he graduates. He's spent most of high school riding solo. But when fate lands him a date for prom, he figures this might be his chance to be less of a loner.
 
Only, prom turns out to be a disaster. J...

Buy
Prom House

Prom House

By Chelsea Mueller

It's the season to scream . . . Prom turns deadly in this unputdownable thriller for fans of Halloween Kills and Fear Street.

A KILLER AFTERPARTY . . .

When Kylie walks into the gorgeous beach house, it’s a dream come true. She still can’t believe she talked her parents into letting her spend the weekend down the shore with her boyfriend, Liam, after prom. Kylie, Liam, and their friends h...

Buy
Room Service

Room Service

By Maren Stoffels

Celebrating a birthday isn't fun when there's a killer on the loose in this scream-worthy read from the author of ESCAPE ROOM.

No parents, no rules. Fender, Linnea, Lucas, and Kate are celebrating Kate’s birthday in a luxury hotel. They’re here to have fun and make forever memories. They all know not to bring up what happened last year, especially on this weekend. All that matters is having the most epic time ever.
<...

Buy
What We Harvest

What We Harvest

By Ann Fraistat

For fans of Wilder Girls comes a nightmarish debut guaranteed to keep you up through the night, about an idyllic small town poisoned by its past, and one girl who must fight the strange disease that's slowly claiming everyone she loves.

Wren owes everything she has to her hometown, Hollow’s End, a centuries-old, picture-perfect slice of America. Tourists travel miles to marvel at its miracle crops, including the shimmer...

Buy

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined