New Books This Week

The 6/13/17 Edition

Summer is heating up with these new books hitting shelves this week at a bookstore near you!

Julia Defiant

Julia Defiant

By Catherine Egan

Perfect for fans of Graceling and Six of Crows, this heart-pounding follow-up to Julia Vanishes has it all—witches, magic, adventure, romance, and betrayal.

 

Julia and a mismatched band of revolutionaries, scholars, and thieves have crossed the world searching for a witch. But for all the miles traveled, they are no closer to finding Ko Dan and undoing the terrible spell that bound an ancient magic to the life of a small child. Casimir wants that magic and will happily kill Theo to extract it—and as they hunt for Ko Dan, Casimir’s assassins are hunting them.

 

Julia can deal with danger. The thing that truly scares her lies within. Her strange ability to vanish to a place just out of sight has grown: she can now disappear so completely that it’s like stepping into another world. And the monsters who live there seem to recognize Julia and count her as one of their own.

 

So . . . is Julia a girl with a monster lurking inside her? Or a monster wearing the disguise of a girl? If she can use her power to save Theo, does it matter? In this riveting second book in the Witch’s Child trilogy, Catherine Egan goes deep within the heart of a fierce, defiant girl trying to discover not just who but what she truly is.

Summer Unscripted

Summer Unscripted

By Jen Klein

A summer romance about missed connections and how not to miss out on the love of your life.

 

Girl looks for a sign. Enter: boy.

 

Rainie doesn’t have a “passion” like her friends do. She’s more of a dabbler—quick to give up and move on. But as graduation approaches, she wishes she had more direction. So when gorgeous Tuck gives a monologue that puts exactly how she’s been feeling lately into words, it’s a sign! Tuck is her passion. How could she not have seen it before?

 

Girl follows boy. Enter: second boy.

 

Rainie convinces her ex-BFF to let her work at the same summer job as Tuck. She’s got a foolproof plan to date him. But when she arrives, Rainie discovers things aren’t that simple. And then she meets Milo, a supercute boy who also works with her. A boy with a complicated past.

 

Girl needs to figure stuff out. Enter: drama.

 

Midnight at the Electric

Midnight at the Electric

By Jodi Lynn Anderson

An ambitious, literary novel that spans time and continents, following three girls who are connected in a way that only love can explain.

 

Kansas, 2065. Adri has been handpicked to live on Mars. But weeks before launch, she discovers the journal of a girl who lived in her house over a hundred years ago and is immediately drawn into the mystery surrounding her fate. While Adri knows she must focus on the mission ahead, she becomes captivated by a life that’s been lost to time . . . and that might be inextricably tied to her own.

 

Oklahoma, 1934. Amid the fear and uncertainty of the Dust Bowl, Catherine longs for the immortality promised by a professor at a traveling show called the Electric. But as her family’s situation becomes more dire—and the suffocating dust threatens her sister’s life—Catherine must find the courage to sacrifice everything in order to save the one person she loves most.

 

England, 1919. After World War I, Lenore tries to come to terms with her grief for her brother, a fallen British soldier, and plans to sail to America in pursuit of a childhood friend. But even if she makes it that far, will her friend be the person she remembers? Will they be able to bring her back to herself?

 

While their stories span thousands of miles and multiple generations, Lenore, Catherine, and Adri’s fates are entwined in ways both heartbreaking and hopeful.

 

Want

Want

By Cindy Pon

An edge-of-your-seat sci-fi thriller, set in a near-future Taipei plagued by pollution, about a group of teens who risk everything to save their city.

 

Jason Zhou survives in a divided society where the elite use their wealth to buy longer lives. The rich wear special suits, protecting them from the pollution and viruses that plague the city, while those without suffer illnesses and early deaths. Frustrated by his city’s corruption and still grieving the loss of his mother who died as a result of it, Zhou is determined to change things, no matter the cost.

 

With the help of his friends, Zhou infiltrates the lives of the wealthy in hopes of destroying the international Jin Corporation from within. Jin Corp. not only manufactures the special suits the rich rely on, but they may also be manufacturing the pollution that makes them necessary.

 

Yet the deeper Zhou delves into this new world of excess and wealth, the more muddled his plans become. And against his better judgment, Zhou finds himself falling for Daiyu, the daughter of Jin Corp.’s CEO. Can Zhou save his city without compromising who he is or destroying his own heart?

Saints and Misfits

Saints and Misfits

By S. K. Ali

A debut novel that feels like a modern-day My So-Called Life starring a Muslim teen.

 

There are three kinds of people in my world:

 

1. Saints: those special people moving the world forward. Sometimes you glaze over them. Or, at least, I do. They’re in your face so much you can’t see them, like how you can’t see your nose.

 

2. Misfits: people who don’t belong. Like me—the way I don’t fit into Dad’s brand-new family or in the leftover one composed of Mom and my older brother, Mama’s-Boy-Muhammad.

 

Also, there’s Jeremy and me. Misfits. Because although, alliteratively speaking, Janna and Jeremy sound good together, we don’t go together. Same planet, different worlds. But sometimes worlds collide and beautiful things happen, right?

 

3. Monsters. Well, monsters wearing saint masks, like in Flannery O’Connor’s stories. Like the monster at my mosque. People think he’s holy, untouchable, but nobody has seen under the mask. Except me.

 

Now in Paperback:

Losing Gabriel: A Love Story

Losing Gabriel: A Love Story

By Lurlene McDaniel

A love story perfect for John Green fans, about three high school seniors who are forced to grasp what it means to truly become adults.

 

Lani Kennedy has dreamed of becoming a nurse since her cousin Arie died of leukemia. Nothing will stop her from getting into the local nursing program.

 

Dawson Berke hasn’t dealt with his mom’s death, and he’s angry at his dad for forcing them to move right before his senior year.

 

Sloan Quentin knows that her band is her ticket to fame and fortune. When she discovers that her boyfriend, the band’s lead guitarist, is cheating on her, she finds comfort—and revenge—in someone else’s arms.

 

As the lives of Lani, Dawson, and Sloan become entangled in unexpected ways, reality hits harder than anyone could have imagined, and life-altering choices are faced.

Titles Mentioned in This Article

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 1 Comment
  1. gradygreen

    Summer unscripted by Jen Klein is an amazing book about a teenage love triangle. There is a girl name Rainie she’s in love with a boy named Tuck because of his monologue where he was “Looking into my eyes. Were his eyes always that blue?”. You never know wether or not it is a rekindled friendship or an explosive time. run 3 online

    Please complete the required fields.



    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
    Reply 0 Replies Mar 3, 2019