YA Books to Read if You Like Mean Girls

We cannot wait to see the new Mean Girls movie! To celebrate both the new movie and the iconic original, we’ve compiled a list of books with mean girl characters to rival Regina George and the Plastics. They’re the perfect books to read while you’re in a Mean Girls mood.

If you’re a fan of stories about “queen bees” like Regina George, then you should read Queen Bee by Amalie Howard.

Queen Bee

Queen Bee

A girl seeking retribution against her backstabbing former best friend finds her plans slightly derailed once she catches the eye of a familiar, handsome marquess. Bestselling author Amalie Howard delivers a delightful, anti-historical Regency-era romp that’s Bridgerton meets The Count of Monte Cristo!

If you love a heroine who shakes up the reigning “Plastics” of the moment, you should read Royal Scandal, the sequel to Royal Blood by Aimée Carter.

Royal Scandal

Royal Scandal

By Aimée Carter

Coming 03.26.24

The second book in the Royal Blood series about an American girl who threatens the royal family by exposing their darkest scandals—even as they get more sinister.

Whether you love or love to hate the idea of a “Burn Book,” you’ll enjoy reading The Revenge Game by Jordyn Taylor.

The Revenge Game

The Revenge Game

A wickedly comic feminist mystery about the dark side of a hopeless romantic’s seemingly perfect love story. A must-read for fans of The Cheerleaders!

On Wednesdays, we wear pink. If you’re looking to read in pink, grab The Night in Question by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

The Night in Question

The Night in Question

How do you solve a murder? Follow the lessons of the master—Agatha Christie! Iris and Alice find themselves in the middle of another Castle Cove mystery in the sequel to New York Times bestseller The Agathas, by powerhouse authors Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

Looking for more stories of popular girl cliques like the Plastics? You’ll enjoy reading about the Sirens in Those We Drown by Amy Goldsmith.

Those We Drown

Those We Drown

An ocean-drenched, atmospheric horror debut! Liv’s best friend disappears on their first night aboard their dream semester-at-sea program—but is he really sick, like everyone says, or is something darker lurking beneath the water?

If you’re looking for a story with a powerful female rivalry to match that between Regina George and Cady Heron, read American Royals III: Rivals.

American Royals III: Rivals

American Royals III: Rivals

The third book in the bestselling American Royals series is here, and a meeting of monarchs will test everyone’s loyalty to the crown…and their own hearts. Relationships will be tested. Strangers will become friends. And rivals will become allies.

Did you enjoy this list of YA books to read if you love Mean Girls? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined