Treat Yourself to a Murder

Trick or treat yourself to a scary thriller, horror, or ghost story! Which bOOks are on your Halloween TBR list? Are there any creepy books we missed?

The Haunting

The Haunting

#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Natasha Preston is back with another pulse-pounding, twisty read!

Haunted by the past . . .

Fright Night

Fright Night

Spending the night in the woods with your friends is not a good idea in this scary thriller by the author of Escape Room.

Those We Drown

Those We Drown

By Amy Goldsmith

Coming 07.02.24

An ocean-drenched, atmospheric horror debut! Liv’s best friend disappears on their first night aboard their dream semester-at-sea program—but is he really sick, like everyone says, or is something darker lurking beneath the water?

There's No Way I'd Die First

There's No Way I'd Die First

A spine-tingling contemporary horror-comedy novel that follows a scary-movie buff as she hosts an elaborate Halloween bash but soon finds the festivities upended when she and her guests are forced to test their survival skills in a deadly game, from debut author Lisa Springer.

Monstrous

Monstrous

Forced to spend her summer in her aunt’s strange small town, a teen girl discovers dark secrets hidden in the woods. From the author of Bad Witch Burning comes another pulse-pounding novel perfect for fans of Supernatural and Lovecraft Country.

Hatchet Girls

Hatchet Girls

Set more than one hundred years after the Borden murders, this propulsive, supernatural thriller imagines what might happen if history were to repeat itself today. Perfect for fans of Kara Thomas and Courtney Summers!

Win Lose Kill Die

Win Lose Kill Die

A high-school slasher with a lethal twist, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson! The students at Morton Academy are high-achievers, selected based on academic excellence. So when a series of murders target the school’s best and brightest, the pressure is on.

Failure is fatal…

More Murder Mysteries & Ghost Stories to Read This Halloween

Did you enjoy this article about Halloween YA books? Check out other book nerd articles here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined