New Books to Read for Each Month of the Year

A new year is upon us, and with a new year comes new books to read! But with so many new books coming out, how can you possibly choose which ones to read next? And what if you still haven’t finished your TBR pile from last year yet?

Never fear! We’ve come up with a completely manageable approach to read new books in 2024 without getting overwhelmed: just pick one book for each month! See below for our recommended new books to read for each month of the year. You might even rope in a friend or two to start a book club to read these titles together throughout the year.

This list is part one. Stay tuned for part two in March!

New Book for January: Dark Star Burning, Ash Falls White by Amélie Wen Zhao

Dark Star Burning, Ash Falls White

Dark Star Burning, Ash Falls White

The epic sequel to the book Song of Silver, Flame Like Nightis a fast-paced, riveting YA fantasy inspired by the mythology and folklore of ancient China.

The Demon Gods have risen. Skies’ End has fallen to the colonizers. And Lan and Zen have chosen sides.

But they will not fight together.

New Book for February: Snowglobe by Soyoung Park, translated by Joungmin Lee Comfort

Snowglobe

Snowglobe

In a world of constant winter, only the citizens of the climate-controlled city of Snowglobe can escape the bitter cold—but this perfect society is hiding dark and dangerous secrets within its frozen heart. A groundbreaking Korean novel translated into English for the first time!

The Hunger Games meets Squid Game in Soyoung Park’s dystopian thriller Snowglobe” –Entertainment Weekly

New Book for March: These Bodies Between Us by Sarah Van Name

These Bodies Between Us

These Bodies Between Us

By Sarah Van Name

Coming 03.12.24

A wistful coming-of-age story with a haunting twist about four friends who spend their summer learning to become invisible—but disappearing comes at a cost.

New Book for April: The Reappearance of Rachel Price by Holly Jackson

The Reappearance of Rachel Price

The Reappearance of Rachel Price

By Holly Jackson

Coming 04.02.24

From the author of the multimillion-copy bestselling A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder series and Five Survive comes a new true-crime fueled mystery thriller about a girl determined to uncover the shocking truth about her mother’s disappearance while filming a documentary on the unsolved case.

Lights. Camera. Lies.

New Book for May: Blood at the Root by LaDarrion Williams

Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

By LaDarrion Williams

Coming 05.07.24

A teenager on the run from his past finds the family he never knew existed and the community he never knew he needed at an HBCU for the young, Black, and magical. Enroll in this fresh fantasy debut with the emotional power of Legendborn and the redefined ancestral magic of Lovecraft Country.

“A genre-shattering amalgamation of culture, heritage, and magic….utterly refreshing”
—J. Elle, New York Times bestselling author of Wings of Ebony

New Book for June: Moonstorm by Yoon Ha Lee

Moonstorm

Moonstorm

By Yoon Ha Lee

Coming 06.04.24

In a society where conformity is valued above all else, a teen girl training to become an Imperial pilot is forced to return to her rebel roots to save her world in this adrenaline-fueled sci-fi adventure—perfect for fans of Iron Widow and Skyward!

Did you enjoy part one in our series of new books to read for each month of the year? Check back in March for part two! In the meantime, discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined