YA Books to Read Based on This Summer’s Disney+ Releases

Disney plus has lots of new and exciting content to binge this summer. And we’re watching aaaaaalll of it! Here’s a roundup of books to read if you like Disney plus! Whether you’re streaming the latest animated film or catching up on an exciting television series, there’s a perfect book to go with your show. Find what you’re watching, and we’ll tell you which book to read with it.

If you’re watching Black Widow, read Black Canary: Breaking Silence by Alexandra Monir

We love books about girls finding their voices, and Dinah Lance’s origin story is everything you could want in a superhero book. Set in a futuristic Gotham City, Dinah fights against the oppressive regime that rules the city in hopes of securing freedom for herself and all women. This is definitely one of the books to read if you like Disney plus!

Black Canary: Breaking Silence

Black Canary: Breaking Silence

By Alexandra Monir

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES!

DC Icons continues with the first-ever YA origin story of superhero Black Canary, from the internationally bestselling author Alexandra Monir. In this thrilling novel, Dinah Lance’s voice is her weapon. And in a near-future world where women have no rights, she won’t hesitate to use everything she has–including her song–to fight back.

Dinah Lance was eight years old when she overheard the impossible: the sound of a girl singing. It was something she was never meant to hear–not in her lifetime and not in Gotham City, taken over by the vicious, patriarchal Court of Owls. The sinister organization rules Gotham City as a dictatorship and has stripped women of everything–their right to work, to make music, to learn, to be free.

Now seventeen, Dinah can’t forget that haunting sound, and she’s beginning to discover that her own voice is just as powerful. But singing is forbidden–a one-way route to a certain death sentence. Fighting to balance her father’s desire to keep her safe, a blossoming romance with mysterious new student Oliver Queen, and her own need to help other women and girls rise up, Dinah wonders if her song will finally be heard. And will her voice be powerful enough to destroy the Court of Owls once and for all? Be sure to add this to your list of books to read if you like Disney plus!

If you’re watching Turning the Tables, read Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

If you love hearing women’s stories like the ones shared on Turning the Tables, take a step back in time and read about the six wives of Henry the VIII. Celebrities in their day, these women’s stories are filled with passion, ambition, and heartbreak.

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

By Deborah Hopkinson

If you were one of King Henry VIII’s six wives, who would you be? Would you be Anne Boleyn, who literally lost her head? The subject of rumor and scandal like Catherine Howard? Or would you survive like Anna of Cleves?
Meet all Henry’s queens–each bound for divorce or death–in this epic novel that reads like fantasy but really happened.

Watch spellbound as each wife attempts to survive their unpredictable king as he grows more obsessed with producing a male heir. And discover how the power-hungry court fanned the flames of Henry’s passions . . . and his most horrible impulses.

Brought to life by seven award-winning and bestselling authors, here is an intimate look at the royals during one of the most treacherous times in history, perfect for anyone fascinated by Britain’s Royal Family or Netflix’s The Crown.

“Ambitious and exciting.” —Bustle

“These stories of love, lust, power and intrigue never fail to fascinate.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred Review

If you’re watching The Mysterious Benedict Society, read Killing November by Adriana Mather

We crave stories about elite and unusual boarding schools as much as you do, which is why we love Killing November. When November finds herself at a secluded boarding school for spies and assassins, she quickly adapts, learns to survive, and uncovers ancient family secrets and conspiracies.

Killing November

Killing November

By Adriana Mather

November is as good as dead. She just doesn’t know it yet.

At the Academy Absconditi, there’s no electricity, no internet, and an archaic eye-for-an-eye punishment system. Classes range from knife throwing and poisons to the art of deception. And the students? Silver-spoon descendants of the world’s most elite strategists–all training to become asassins, spies, and master imporsonators.

One is a virtuoso of accents–and never to be trusted. Another is a vicious fighter determined to exploit November’s weaknesses. And then there’s the boy with the mesmerizing eyes and a secret agenda. November doesn’t know how an ordinary girl like her fits into the school’s complicated legacy. But when a student is murdered, she’ll need to separate her enemies from her allies before the crime gets pinned or her…or she becomes the killer’s next victim.

If you’re watching Loki, read Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl

Do you love every minute of Loki? You’re going to obsess over Neverworld Wake! It’s a story about bizarre time loops, crime, and survival—basically everything you love about Loki. You’ll get hooked on the first page!

Neverworld Wake

Neverworld Wake

By Marisha Pessl

It’s been one year since graduation, and Beatrice Hartley has mixed feelings about joining her friends for a weekend reunion.
She’s right to be worried. After a night out, they narrowly avoid a collision with a car on a deserted road. Or so they believe.
Back at the mansion where they are staying, a mysterious man knocks on the door during a raging storm. He tells them that they must make a choice: one of them will live, and the rest will die. And the decision must be unanimous.
Soon time backbends. Beatrice and her friends are forced to repeat that dreadful day so many times they lose count. With each replay, events twist and fears come alive in horrifying ways.
This nightmare, this nothingness . . . this is the Neverworld Wake.
To escape, they have to vote. But how do you choose who to kill? And then how do you live with yourself?

If you’re watching Wolfgang, read Notes from a Young Black Chef (Adapted for Young Adults) by Kwame Onwuachi

After you’ve gobbled up every delicious minute of the documentary Wolfgang, pick up this tasty memoir. With determination, grit, and perseverance, Kwame overcame many challenges and became a world-renowned chef. This book will inspire you to reach for your dreams—whether or not they involve a whisk.

Notes from a Young Black Chef (Adapted for Young Adults)

Notes from a Young Black Chef (Adapted for Young Adults)

By Joshua David Stein

Food was Kwame Onwuachi’s first great love. He connected to cooking via his mother, in the family’s modest Bronx apartment. From that spark, he launched his own catering company with twenty thousand dollars he made selling candy on the subway and trained in the kitchens of some of the most acclaimed restaurants in the country. He faced many challenges on the road to success, including breaking free of a dangerous downward spiral due to temptation and easy money, and grappling with just how unwelcoming the world of fine dining can be for people of color.

Born on Long Island and raised in New York City, Nigeria, and Louisiana, Kwame Onwuachi’s incredible story is one of survival and ingenuity in the face of adversity.

If you’re watching Jungle Cruise, read The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott

Go on an adventure in search of a different sort of miracle—eternal life. A powerful book, magic elixirs, legends come to life, and an evil plot make this fast-paced adventure a must-read! And with six books in the series, you’ll have plenty of reading material to enjoy.

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Complete Collection (Books 1-6)

The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Complete Collection (Books 1-6)

By Michael Scott

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.
But his tomb is empty.
Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries.
The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It’s the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That’s exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it.
Humankind won’t know what’s happening until it’s too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.
Sometimes legends are true. And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

If you’re watching Turner and Hooch, read What I Carry by Jennifer Longo

Okay, so this might seem like an odd pairing, but hear me out. Turner and Hooch is a movie about a US Marshal forming an unlikely friendship with a junkyard dog. What I Carry is a novel about a teenager finding a home just before she ages out of the foster care system. They’re both feel-good stories that will leave you with a smile on your face.

What I Carry

What I Carry

By Jennifer Longo

Growing up in foster care, Muir has lived in many houses. And if she’s learned one thing, it is to Pack. Light. Carry only what fits in a suitcase.

Toothbrush? Yes. Socks? Yes. Emotional attachment to friends? foster families? a boyfriend? Nope! There’s no room for any additional baggage.

Muir has just one year left before she ages out of the system. One year before she’s free. One year to avoid anything–or anyone–that could get in her way.

Then she meets Francine. And Kira. And Sean.

And everything changes.

Liked this article on books to read if you like Disney plus? Check out our other book nerd articles here and become part our social community at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Underlined