[wps_cart_icon]

YA Books You Should Read Based on Your Ideal Romantic Getaway

Remember the days when you could go on vacation? Those were good times. If you’ve got the travel bug and are itching to visit new places, we’ve got the best kind of getaway for you—a bookish escape!

So, without any further ado, choose one of these romantic getaways and find out which YA book will take you there. Romance, travel, and happy endings await!

If you want to visit . . . Paris, read Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau.

Whisk yourself away to the City of Love with this sweet romance! Mia is spending the summer at a prestigious ballet program and has her eye on the prize: the chance to audition for a ballet company. But when a charming French boy named Louis appears, Mia is faced with a distraction that could jeopardize her dreams.

Kisses and Croissants

Kisses and Croissants

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix's Emily in Paris.

Mia ...

If you want to visit . . . Hollywood, read I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre.

If you’ve always wanted to visit Tinseltown, you’ll adore this rom-com. Emma and Sophia both love making movies, and they both want to win a competition where the top prize is a trip to a film festival in Los Angeles. The girls become fierce rivals—until they fall for each other.

I Think I Love You

I Think I Love You

A YA contemporary rom com about two girls who start as rivals but after a twist of events, end up falling for one another--at least they think so. A pitch perfect queer romance--and it's a paperback original!

Arch-nemeses Emma, a die-hard romantic, and more-practical minded Sophia find themselves competing against one another for a co...

If you want to visit . . . a secluded island, read Breathless by Jennifer Niven.

When you’re ready to find love off the beaten path, pick up a copy of this slice-of-life YA romance from the author of All the Bright Places! When her parents separate, Claudine goes with her mom to an island off the coast of Georgia. There, she meets Miah, a boy who loves the island and makes Claudine feel understood. As the summer heats up, Claudine and Miah lose themselves in each other—even though it’s only temporary.

Breathless

Breathless

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places comes an unforgettable summer novel, set on an island off the coast of Georgia, about a sensitive girl ready to live her bravest life--sex, love, heartbreak, and all.

Before: With graduation on the horizon, budding writer Claudine Henry is focu...

If you want to visit . . . a mountain resort in the summer, read Sunkissed by Kasie West.

Ready for a feel-good book that will make you swoon? Kasie West never fails to deliver a sweet and satisfying romance that will lighten your heart. Head to a family camp in the mountains, enjoy a whirlwind romance, and be entertained by an abundance of family drama. If you need a book that will brighten your day, this is it!

Sunkissed

Sunkissed

A lighthearted and swoony contemporary YA romance by fan-favorite author Kasie West about a girl who finds that a summer spent at a family resort isn't as bad as she imagined . . . and that falling in love is filled with heartache, laughter, and surprises!

Avery has always used music as an escape. But after her best friend betrays her...

If you want to visit . . . a mountain resort in the winter, read New Year’s Kiss by Lee Matthews.

Okay, so maybe your idea of a romantic getaway is still in the mountains but involves a cozy blanket of snow. If that’s the case, then you’ll adore this sweet rom-com about a girl spending her winter holiday in Vermont with her family. When she meets a boy in the lobby, they decide to tackle their New Year’s bucket lists together.

New Year's Kiss

New Year's Kiss

If your New Year's resolution was to find the perfect upbeat romance read...this is it! Tess is ready to ring in the new year--will she have a new boy by her side?

Tess and her opinionated older sister Lauren are spending the week after Christmas at the snowy Evergreen Lodge in Vermont--and they aren't happy about it. Their s...

If you want to visit . . . India, read American Betiya by Anuradha D. Rajurkar.

You’re going to obsess over this YA novel about young love, travel, and growing up. Rani’s parents don’t approve of Oliver, the boy she likes. She starts dating him in secret, but Oliver desperately wants to be part of her family. When Rani goes to India for the summer, the time and distance help her put their relationship into perspective. This breathtaking YA novel is impossible to forget!

American Betiya

American Betiya

A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson.

Praise for American Betiya
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of 2022
A YALSA Best Best Fi...

If you want to visit . . . New York City, read My Epic Spring Break (Up) by Kristin Rockaway.

Head to the Big Apple and enjoy an unforgettable spring break! When her summer plans go up in smoke, Ashley decides to spend spring break experimenting with her love life. With two boys showing interest in her, Ashley’s heart is in for a roller coaster of a ride. You’ll devour every page of this YA romance!

My Epic Spring Break (Up)

My Epic Spring Break (Up)

A fun and upbeat romance about a girl who finds a cheat sheet for love.

Spring break . . . heartache?

For coder extraordinaire Ashley, high school is all about prepping for college. Her love life? Virtually nonexistent. She's never been on a date. Never been kissed. Never been in love.

When her plans veer off course, ...

If you want to visit . . . the United States on a cross-country train trip, read Field Notes on Love by Jennifer E. Smith.

If a scenic train trip sounds like an irresistible getaway, you need to read this endearing rom-com! A twist of fate (and an online ad) bring Hugo and Mae together on an epic trip from coast to coast. Along the way, they’ll learn about themselves, each other, and love.

Field Notes on Love

Field Notes on Love

"Utterly romantic." --Jenny Han, NYT bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before

Two teens are thrown together on a cross-country train trip that will teach them about love, each other, and the futures they can build for themselves in this meet-cute romance from the bestselling author of Windfall...

If you want to visit . . .  Vancouver, read 10 Things I Can See from Here by Carrie Mac.

When you feel like taking a trip across the northern border to Canada, pick up a copy of this delightful queer romance novel. Maeve suffers from anxiety, which gets worse when she goes to stay with her dad in Vancouver. There, she meets Salix, a girl who isn’t afraid of anything. You’ll fall head-over-heels for these two girls and their blossoming relationship.

10 Things I Can See From Here

10 Things I Can See From Here

Perfect for fans of John Green's Turtles All the Way Down and Nina LaCour's We Are Okay, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep...

If you want to visit . . . Long Island, read The Summer Bed by Ann Brashares.

Are you dying to spend a blissful summer on Long Island? Read The Summer Bed to satisfy your wanderlust! Sasha and Ray aren’t related, but their parents share a complicated past. The teens spend alternating weeks in a shared bedroom at a summer house. Even though they’ve never met, they’ve built a strong friendship over email—one that could become something more if they ever meet in person.

The Summer Bed

The Summer Bed

"A gorgeous exploration of family, secrets, and love." —Teen Vogue
 
From the bestselling author of the beloved Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, comes a “must-read” (PopCrush) novel about two teenagers who have never met but share the same room on alternating weeks during an unf...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
11
Post a comment
2 Likes 1 Comment
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
11

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined