The Ultimate Nic Stone Reading List

Author Nic Stone leapt onto the young adult scene with the publication of her debut YA novel, the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Three more YA novels and two middle-grade novels later, she’s an acclaimed and bestselling author whose books never fail to both entertain and expand the mind. Her works are bestsellers, best books of the year, and award finalists. Nic Stone has written some of the most important YA books of our generation and most recently, was named in Time‘s 100 Best YA Books of All Time.

Stone represents diverse voices, stories, and identities in her work, reflecting the wide array of cultures, backgrounds, and religions she was exposed to growing up. Each of Nic Stone’s novels features well-rounded characters who will work their way into your heart, one page at a time. You won’t soon forget their trials, tribulations, triumphs, and stories.

Stone’s captivating young adult novels explore realistic themes and topics that modern teens—and adults—deal with every day, from heavy and serious to lighthearted and fun. Her books are perfect both as an enthralling pleasure read and for a rich and fruitful book club discussion. Dear Martin and its sequel Dear Justyce explore racism, the aftermath of police brutality, and the ins and outs of the American criminal justice system. Odd One Out examines friendships, crushes, first love, identity, and self-discovery. Jackpot is a funny romance that delves into class and privilege—and the effects of a little good luck. Stone’s body of work is emotional, powerful, and delightful. Whether you already love Nic Stone or you’re new to her books, you’re sure to find something to enjoy—it’s hard to pick up a Nic Stone novel and not find yourself engrossed right away.

Nic Stone was raised in a suburb of Atlanta, Georgia. After working in teen mentoring and spending a few years in Israel, she returned to the United States to work as a writer full-time.

As you work your way through Nic Stone’s books, you can also visit her online at nicstone.info or on Instagram at @nicstone.

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

By Nic Stone

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

"A must-read!” –ANGIE THOMAS, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U...

Dear Justyce

Dear Justyce

By Nic Stone

An NPR Best Book of the Year * The stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed,  #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. An incarcerated teen writes letters to his best friend about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system.

An unflinching look into the tragically flawed practices and silenced voices in the American juvenile justice system.

Ve...

Jackpot

Jackpot

By Nic Stone

From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin--which Angie Thomas, the bestselling author of The Hate U Give, called "a must read"--comes a pitch-perfect romance that examines class, privilege, and how a stroke of good luck can change an entire life.

Meet Rico: high school senior and afternoon-shift cashier at the Gas 'n' Go, who after school and...

Odd One Out

Odd One Out

By Nic Stone

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Sanchez (Coop & Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven-...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Underlined