What to Read Next if You Loved Wilder Girls by Rory Power

If Wilder Girls by Rory Power knocked your socks off and left you wanting more, you’re in luck! Whether you loved the horror, the female friendships, or the sci-fi elements of the book, we’ve got some book recs for you. You can rest easy knowing that this Wilder Girls reading list gives you everything your Book Nerd heart craves.

If you loved the writing, read Burn Our Bodies Down by Rory Power.

Oh yes, Rory has a new book, and it’s just as amazing as the first. Get ready for a strange new thriller that will have you gasping at every twist and turn. A small town, a mysterious past, and a creepy mystery await!

Burn Our Bodies Down

Burn Our Bodies Down

By Rory Power

"[A] deliriously creepy tale...that'll keep your nightmares up at night." --Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Wilder Girls comes a feverishly twisty thriller about a girl whose past has always been a mystery--until she decides to return to her mother's hometown . . . where history has a tendency to repeat itself.
...


If you loved the mystery element, read This Is My America by Kim Johnson.

When her brother is accused of killing a white girl, Tracy decides to find out what really happened. As she digs up clues, she uncovers a mystery that runs as deep as her Texas town’s racist past. This novel will keep you glued to the page!

This Is My America

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson

"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.


Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on dea...



If you loved the horror, read Escape Room by Maren Stoffels.

Missing those thrills and chills you got from reading Wilder Girls? Pick up Escape Room, and you’ll have goose bumps in no time. This perfect-for-summer paperback is about a group of teens who go looking for a night of fun and get trapped in a house of horrors instead.

Escape Room

Escape Room

By Maren Stoffels

There's no getting away from this unputdownable thriller--and paperback original--about teens being held captive in an escape room where the stakes are all too real. Perfect for Halloween!

All they need to do is get out.

Alissa, Sky, Miles and Mint are ready for a night of fun at the Escape Room.
It's simple.
Choose their game.
Get locked in a room.
Find the clues.
Solve the puzzles.
And escape the ro...









If you loved the boarding school setting, read Killing November by Adriana Mather.

This prep school is unlike any you’ve ever read about. Exclusively for the children of world-class spies and assassins, students here learn skills like knife-throwing, espionage, and poison. When a student is murdered, all fingers point to the new girl, November. In a school full of teens trained in deception, she’ll have to use all her wits to prove her innocence.

Killing November

Killing November

By Adriana Mather

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Hang a Witch comes a thriller set at a secretive boarding school where students are trained to carry on family legacies that have built--and toppled--empires.

November is as good as dead. She just doesn't know it yet.

At the Academy Absconditi, there's no electricity, no internet, and an archaic eye-for-an-eye punishment ...



If you loved the fierce protagonists, pre-order The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna.

There’s no question that the characters in Wilder Girls are scrappy survivors. If you need another story about badass heroines, add The Gilded Ones to your TBR. This is the first book in a bold and immersive West African–inspired feminist fantasy series in which girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice.

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones

By Namina Forna

On Sale 02.09.21

“Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.”–Refinery 29 

“An enthralling debut. The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful.—Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks ...



If you loved the female friendships, read House of Salt and Sorrows by Erin A. Craig.

This seaside retelling of the classic fairy tale “Twelve Dancing Princesses” features the best kind of female friendship—sisters! This dark and delicious story full of sisterhood, magic, and monsters will keep you coming back for more.

House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows

By Erin A. Craig

"Step inside a fairy tale."--Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Get swept away by the New York Times bestseller that Melissa Albert, author of The Hazel Wood, calls "eerie" and "lovely." As one by one her beautiful sisters mysteriously die on their isolated island estate, Annaleigh must unravel the curse that haunts her family. Be careful who you dance with...


I...



If you loved the genre-bending elements, read Pet by Akwaeke Emezi.

Wilder Girls is sci-fi, fantasy, dystopian, thriller, and horror all rolled into one. If you love a book that defies genre, check out Pet—Jam teams up with a mysterious creature named Pet to hunt a monster and save her best friend from an enemy she never thought could exist in a town she thought was safe.

Pet

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi

On Sale 01.19.21

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER

"[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut. . . . Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." -The New York Times

The award-winning, genre-defying novel by the New York Times bestselling author of THE DEATH OF VIVEK OJI that explores themes of identity and justice and asks: How do you share the truth when...




If you want an unusual survival story, read Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl.

One of the reasons that Wilder Girls is so memorable is because it’s an unusual story. If you like books that take you places you’ve never been before, Neverworld Wake is a must-read. A group of college students get together for a night of nostalgia and get caught in a bizarre time loop. This unusual story will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page.

Neverworld Wake

Neverworld Wake

By Marisha Pessl

"A 'clear your calendar' kind of one-day read." --MELISSA ALBERT, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

Five friends. Only one can survive the Neverworld Wake. Who would you choose?

From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of Special Topics in Calamity Physics and Night Film comes an absorbi...



If you're looking for more queer fantasy stories, read Witchlight by Jessi Zabarsky.

If you loved the queer protagonist in Wilder Girls and want more fantasy stories with queer characters, you’ll love Witchlight. This graphic novel has it all—witches, romance, and magic. You’ll be hooked on the first page!

Witchlight

Witchlight

By Jessi Zabarsky

Love -- loss -- witches -- this YA fantasy graphic novel has it all! This thoughtful, emotional story will entrance you with its moving story and organic artwork.

Lelek is a witch.

That's all Sanja knows when she meets Lelek in the marketplace. But Lelek is hiding something -- and as her life begins to intersect with Sanja's, all that she's kept to herself starts to come to light.

Secrets, friendship, and magic all co...





Let us know which one you are reading next in the comments below!

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments