Read the Rainbow this PRIDE Month!

This June marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising so we have even more reason than usual to celebrate our LGBTQ literary community. Read the rainbow with this list of some of our favorite LGBTQ books. Don't forget to show off your pride with our band-new BOOK NERD PRIDE merch in partnership with Out of Print.

Odd One Out

Odd One Out

By Nic Stone

A 2019 Rainbow List title! 

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It’s Us.

Sam & Ilsa's Last Hurrah

Sam & Ilsa's Last Hurrah

By David Levithan

A 2019 Rainbow List title! 

The New York Times Bestselling duo behind Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist and The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily return with twins out to throw the party of a lifetime–or at least the best party of high school!

Chaotic Good

Chaotic Good

By Whitney Gardner

On Sale 12.31.19

A 2019 Rainbow List title! 

Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this illustrated novel, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Steveson!

The Beauty That Remains

The Beauty That Remains

By Ashley Woodfolk

A 2019 Rainbow List title! 

Told from three diverse points of view, this story of life and love after loss is one Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give, believes “will stay with you long after you put it down.”

Fresh Ink

Fresh Ink

By Lamar Giles

All it takes to rewrite the rules is a little fresh ink in this remarkable YA collection from thirteen of the most recognizable diverse authors writing today including Nicola Yoon, Jason Reynolds, Melissa de la Cruz, and many more, and published in partnership with We Need Diverse Books.

Nevertheless, We Persisted

Nevertheless, We Persisted

By In This Together Media

A powerful collection of essays from actors, activists, athletes, politicians, musicians, writers, and teens, including Senator Amy Klobuchar, actress Alia Shawkat, actor Maulik Pancholy, poet Azure Antoinette, teen activist Gavin Grimm, and many, many more, each writing about a time in their youth when they were held back because of their race, gender, or sexual identity—but persisted.

Two Boys Kissing

Two Boys Kissing

By David Levithan

Based on true events—and narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS—Two Boys Kissing follows Harry and Craig, two seventeen-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record. While the two increasingly dehydrated and sleep-deprived boys are locking lips, they become a focal point in the lives of other teens dealing with universal questions of love, identity, and belonging.

Being Jazz

Being Jazz

By Jazz Jennings

Teen advocate and trailblazer Jazz Jennings—named one of “The 25 Most Influential Teens” of the year by Time—shares her very public transgender journey, as she inspires people to accept the differences in others while they embrace their own truths.

"[Jazz’s] touching book serves as a rallying cry for understanding and acceptance.”–Bustle

COMING SOON:

Pet

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi

In their riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices you can make when the society around you is in denial.

Wilder Girls

Wilder Girls

By Rory Power

A feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement when one disappears. This fresh, new debut is a mind-bending novel unlike anything you’ve read before.

Me Myself & Him

Me Myself & Him

By Chris Tebbetts

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and A. S. King’s Still Life with Tornado, this story of parallel time lines cleverly explores how our choices can change and shape us—as well as the ways in which choices don’t change the core of our being at all.

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments