Pick a Winter Olympic Sport, Get a Book Rec

We are so inspired by all the athletes who are kicking butt in the winter games so we decided to match some of our fave YA with our fave Olympic sports. Whether you’re a bobsled person or the figure skating type, we have the perfect winter YA for you.

We can't all be star athletes, but we CAN all be star readers, so grab one of these reads to satisfy your winter book nerd needs.


Bobsledding—Winterfolk by Janel Kolby

When we think of bobsledding, we automatically think of winter. That’s why we’re suggesting you read Winterfolk by Janel Kolby if your fave winter sport is bobsledding. Simple as that.




By Janel Kolby

This gorgeous and lyrical debut novel is perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma, Laura Ruby, and Nina LaCour.

Rain doesn’t wish on stars anymore.

For as long as she can remember, her home has been among the Winterfolk, a group of homeless people living outside Seattle. Being homeless has taught Rain how to be invisible.

But when she discovers that the city plans to sweep out the Winterfolk’s camp, her world is shattered. Determined to face the world like she’s never had to before, she convinces her friend King to take her to Seattle.

Snowboarding—Down and Across by Arvin Ahmadi

“Down and across” is exactly what snowboarding is all about. This book was basically written to support all you snowboarding enthusiasts. Like snowboarders everywhere, the main character comes across some challenges and high-speed chases. An adventure awaits you.


Down and Across

Down and Across

By Arvin Ahmadi

"John Green fans will appreciate this tale."USA Today
"[A] humorous, deeply human coming-of-age story." The Washington Post

Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can hardly commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming an...

Speed Skating—Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni

This book is all about finding new things to love after the thing you love most is gone. It’s an emotional journey and a fast-paced read—sort of like speed skating. Make sure you have loads of tissues ready when you pick up this one . . . you’re gonna need them.


Things I'm Seeing Without You

Things I'm Seeing Without You

By Peter Bognanni

Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss.

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after learning of Jonah’s death. Jonah, the boy she’d traded banter with over texts and heartfelt e-mails.

Jonah, the ...

Ice Hockey—Blood of a Thousand Stars by Rhoda Belleza

Ice hockey literally equals the blood of a thousand (hockey) stars. In this high-risk novel, you’ll find love and war and hopefully not too much blood.

Blood of a Thousand Stars

Blood of a Thousand Stars

By Rhoda Belleza

War tears the galaxy apart, power tests the limits of family, and violence gives way to freedom in this exhilarating sequel to Empress of a Thousand Skies.

With a revolution brewing, Rhee is faced with a choice: make a deal with her enemy, Nero, or denounce him and risk losing her crown.

Framed assassin Alyosha has one goal in mind: kill Nero. But to get his revenge,...

Curling—The Book of Dust by Philip Pullman

Curling is the most hilariously entertaining sport to watch. One thing you NEVER want when curling? Dust. But one thing you DEFINITELY want to read? The Book of Dust.


The Book of Dust:  La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1)

The Book of Dust: La Belle Sauvage (Book of Dust, Volume 1)

By Philip Pullman


"Too few things in our world are worth a seventeen year wait: The Book of Dust is one of them." —The Washington Post

Philip Pullman returns to the parallel world of his groundbreaking novel The Golden Compass to expand on the story of Lyra, "one of fantasy's most indelible characters." (The New York Times Magazine)


Figure Skating—Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

Let’s face it, figure skating is the gymnastics of the winter Olympics. The winners automatically become global royalty, so no one really wants to be the fallen. But Reign of the Fallen is certainly something that you need on your TBR.


Reign of the Fallen

Reign of the Fallen

By Sarah Glenn Marsh

"This edgy fantasy doesn't just blur boundaries of genre, of gender, of past and present, life and death--it explodes them." --Cinda Williams Chima, New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Realms and The Shattered Realms

Without the dead, she'd be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia's master necromancers, catering to the kingdom's ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it's Odessa's job to ...

What book will you read during this Olympic Season? Tag us @GetUnderlined!


Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments