Books That Will Inspire the Activist In You

The next chapter is up to us! The election is less than a month away. Are you ready to vote? No matter what issue you care most about, books can inspire us to explore important topics and take action. Here is a list of excellent, powerful stories to inspire us to use our voices to uplift one another.

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

By Sara Saedi

This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen’s experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today’s divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah’s books.

Call Me American (Adapted for Young Adults)

Call Me American (Adapted for Young Adults)

By Abdi Nor Iftin

Adapted from the adult memoir, this gripping and acclaimed story follows one boy’s journey into young adulthood, against the backdrop of civil war and his ultimate immigration to America, in search of a better life.

Dear Martin

Dear Martin

By Nic Stone

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning #1 New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist.

Dear Justyce

Dear Justyce

By Nic Stone

The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice systemPerfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.

Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition, Adapted for Young Adults)

Just Mercy (Movie Tie-In Edition, Adapted for Young Adults)

By Bryan Stevenson

Bryan Stevenson’s incredible fight to end mass incarceration, excessive punishment, and racial inequality comes to life in this young adult adaptation of the acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestseller that was adapted into a major motion picture starring Michael B. Jordan, Jaime Foxx, and Brie Larson.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

By Erika L. Sánchez

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets Jane the Virgin in this poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican American home.

Mexican WhiteBoy

Mexican WhiteBoy

By Matt de la Peña

Newbery Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Matt de la Peña’s Mexican WhiteBoy is a story of friendship, acceptance, and the struggle to find your identity in a world of definitions.

Nevertheless, We Persisted

Nevertheless, We Persisted

By In This Together Media

A powerful collection of essays from actors, activists, athletes, politicians, musicians, writers, and teens, including Senator Amy Klobuchar, actress Alia Shawkat, actor Maulik Pancholy, poet Azure Antoinette, teen activist Gavin Grimm, and many, many others, each writing about a time in their youth when they were held back because of their race, gender, or sexual identity—but persisted.

Parkland Speaks

Parkland Speaks

By Sarah Lerner

Featuring art and writing from the students of the Parkland tragedy, this is a raw look at the events of February 14, and a poignant representation of grief, healing, and hope.

The Assignment

The Assignment

By Liza Wiemer

Inspired by a real-life incident, this riveting novel explores discrimination and antisemitism and reveals their dangerous impact. Based on true events, The Assignment asks: What does it take for tolerance, justice, and love to prevail?

The Far Away Brothers (Adapted for Young Adults)

The Far Away Brothers (Adapted for Young Adults)

By Lauren Markham

The inspiring true story of identical twin teenage brothers who escape El Salvador’s violence to build new lives in California as undocumented immigrants—perfect for fans of Enrique’s Journey and anyone interested in learning about the issues that underlie today’s conversations about DACA and immigration reform.

The Sun Is Also a Star Movie Tie-in Edition

The Sun Is Also a Star Movie Tie-in Edition

By Nicola Yoon

The #1 New York Times bestseller and National Book Award Finalist from the author of Everything, Everything is now a major motion picture starring Yara Shahidi and Charles Melton!

The Talk

Edited by Wade Hudson and Cheryl Willis Hudson

Thirty diverse, award-winning authors and illustrators invite you into their homes to witness the conversations they have with their children about race in America today in this powerful call-to-action that invites all families to be anti-racists and advocates for change.

This Is My America

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson

“Incredible and searing.” Nic Stone#1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Walk Toward the Rising Sun

Walk Toward the Rising Sun

By Garen Thomas

The amazing autobiography of a young Sudanese boy who went from a child soldier to an international peace activist, a struggling refugee to a Hollywood actor.

We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists

We Say #NeverAgain: Reporting by the Parkland Student Journalists

By Eric Garner

A journalistic look at the shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland and the fight for gun control—as told by the student reporters for the school’s newspaper and TV station.

Yes She Can

Yes She Can

By Molly Dillon

Return to President Obama’s White House in this New York Times bestselling anthology for young women by young women, featuring stories from ten inspiring young staffers who joined his administration in their 20s with the hope of making a difference.

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Comment 2 Comments
  1. mistyreeves

    Dear Martin is actually a book I would recommend teachers order for their schools to make their students read. Because it doesn’t simply tell a story; it introduces the reader to various important equality-related topics and values.
    soundcloud downloader online

    Please complete the required fields.



    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
    Reply 0 Replies Mar 3, 2019
  2. Loha69

    It seems to me that every student should read these books in the most difficult period of his life. This will help them cope with this and recharge their batteries for new feats. To the list of these books I would add a reading of the review EssayExplorer for example, a review of the service edusson. For students, this is useful when they write an essay and need help with writing it. Still I could advise some books for teenagers namely: Flowers for Algernon, 1984.

    Please complete the required fields.



    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
    Reply 0 Replies Feb 2, 2019