Celebrate Creators This Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month

This month, we are celebrating Asian American Pacific Islander creators and their stories. AAPI Heritage Month first began as Pacific/Asian American Heritage Week in 1979, when Congress introduced and passed a law praising the contributions of people of Asian and Pacific Islander people to American history. In 1991, Congress unanimously passed a proclamation designating May as Asian/Pacific Heritage Month, and in 1992, Congress declared that Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month be observed annually in May.

We’ve pulled together a list of incredible works from some of our favorite creators for Asian American Pacific Islander month and beyond.

American Betiya

American Betiya

By Anuradha D. Rajurkar

A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson.

Rani Kelkar has never lied to her parents, until she meets Oliver. The same qualities that draw her in--his tattoos, his charisma, his passion for art--make him her mother's worst nightmare.

They begin dating in ...



Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

Americanized: Rebel Without a Green Card

By Sara Saedi

In development as a television series from Reese Witherspoon’s Hello Sunshine production company and ABC Studios!

This hilarious, poignant and true story of one teen's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East is an increasingly necessary read in today's divisive world. Perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Trevor Noah's books.


“Very funny but neve...




Blood Heir

Blood Heir

By Amélie Wen Zhao

The first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father's murder. 
 
In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled. Their varied gifts to control the world around them are deemed unnatural—even dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, is one of the most terrifying Affinites.

Ana’s ability to control blood h...



Chinese Cinderella

Chinese Cinderella

By Adeline Yen Mah

More than 800,000 copies in print!
 
From the author of critically acclaimed and bestselling memoir Falling Leaves, this is a poignant and moving true account of her childhood, growing up as an unloved daughter in 1940s China.

A Chinese proverb says, "Falling leaves return to their roots." In her own courageous voice, Adeline Yen Mah returns to her roots to tell the story of her painful childhood an...



The Magic Fish

The Magic Fish

By Trung Le Nguyen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by the New York Public Library • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Publishers Weekly

Tiến loves his family and his friends…but Tiến has a secret he's been keeping from them, and it might change everything. An amazing YA graphic novel that deals with the complexity of family and how stories can bring us ...

My So-Called Bollywood Life

My So-Called Bollywood Life

By Nisha Sharma

The romance of Stephanie Perkins meets the quirk of Maureen Johnson, then gets a Bollywood twist in this fate-filled debut that takes the future into its own hands.

Winnie Mehta was never really convinced that Raj was her soul mate, but their love was written in the stars. Literally, a pandit predicted Winnie would find the love of her life before her eighteenth birthday, and Raj meets all the qualifications. Which is why Win...

Radha & Jai's Recipe for Romance

Radha & Jai's Recipe for Romance

By Nisha Sharma

On Sale 07.13.21

To All the Boys I Loved Before meets World of Dance in this delectable love story that combines food, dance, and a hint of drama to cook up the perfect romance.

Radha is on the verge of becoming one of the greatest kathak dancers in the world . . . until a family betrayal costs her the biggest competition of her life. Now she has left her Chicago home behind to follow her stage mom to New Je...

Red Tigress

Red Tigress

By Amélie Wen Zhao

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone will love the sequel to Blood Heir. The second book in an epic fantasy series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to liberate her empire from a dark reign.

Ana Mikhailov is the only surviving member of the royal family of Cyrilia. She has no army, no title, and no allies, and now she must find a way to take back the ...

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes

By Elizabeth Lim

On Sale 07.06.21

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Shiori'anma, the ...



Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

By Elizabeth Lim

Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylish blockbuster.” —Entertainment Weekly

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses from the sun, the moon, and the stars.


Maia Tamarin drea...



Unravel the Dusk

Unravel the Dusk

By Elizabeth Lim

Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when she wove the dresses of the sun, the moon, and the stars, but it will take more than a beautiful gown to hide the darkness rising up within her. . . . The stakes are higher than ever in this breathtaking sequel to Spin the Dawn, perfect for fans of Six of Crows.

Maia Tamarin's journey to sew the dresses of the sun, the moon, and the stars...

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments