Watched This? Read That! YA Book Recommendations Based on Your Favorite Shows

Is your streaming queue empty? Are you waiting impatiently for the new season of your favorite show? Do you need a great book to read? We’re here to help! Find a show you loved on the list below and check out our recommendation of a great new YA book that has a similar vibe. If you have other suggestions of book and show pairings, leave them in the comment section below—we’d love to hear bout them!

If you were captivated by The Queen’s Gambit, you should read Blood Heir and Red Tigress by Amélie Wen Zhao.

In The Queen’s Gambit, Beth Harmon learned chess in an orphanage, eventually becoming a world-class player. As a young woman in a male-dominated sport, Beth often felt like an outsider. If you loved the show, we recommend Red Tigress by Amélie Wen Zhao. Like Beth, Ana must decide who she can trust as she seeks to regain her power and save her kingdom. Ana meets her match in notorious crime lord Ramsom Quicktongue. The way these two try to outmaneuver one another reminds us of Beth staring down her challengers across a chess board.

Red Tigress

Red Tigress

By Amélie Wen Zhao

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone will love the sequel to Blood Heir. The second book in an epic fantasy series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to liberate her empire from a dark reign.

Ana Mikhailov is the only surviving member of the royal family of Cyrilia. She has no army, no title, and no allies, and now she must find a way to take back the ...

If you thought Bridgerton was brilliant, you should read A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood.

Bridgerton follows six siblings as they seek (or avoid) love in Regency London under the watchful eye of an anonymous gossip columnist. If you adore Bridgerton’s flirty, tea-sipping atmosphere, we recommend you try A Sky Painted Gold by Laura Wood. This charming, swoon-worthy YA historical romance is about a small-town girl who meets a charismatic pair of siblings and is swept into their glamorous world in 1920s Cornwall.

A Sky Painted Gold

A Sky Painted Gold

By Laura Wood

On Sale 06.08.21

"I Capture the Castle meets Gatsby. It's absolutely delicious!"--Laini Taylor, New York Times bestselling author

A gorgeously dreamy coming-of-age romance perfect for fans of A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.


It is the summer of 1929. Lou Trevelyan is a small-town girl with big dreams of becoming a writer. Then she meets the Cardew siblings: th...



If you loved Never Have I Ever, you should read Home Is Not a Country by Safia Elhillo.

We loved watching high school student Devi Vishwakumar grapple with grief, drama, and identity issues in Never Have I Ever. If you were a fan of the show, we have two recommendations for you: Home Is Not a Country by Safia Elhillo is a moving novel-in-verse that also speaks to the immigrant coming-of-age experience in America. If you loved the realistic portrayal of teen relationships in Never Have I Ever, you should try Chlorine Sky by Mahogany L. Browne, a YA novelin-verse that focuses on Black female friendship. 

Home Is Not a Country

Home Is Not a Country

By Safia Elhillo

“Nothing short of magic.” —Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X
 
From the  acclaimed poet featured on Forbes Africa’s “30 Under 30” list, this powerful novel-in-verse captures one girl, caught between cultures, on an unexpected journey to face the ephemeral girl she might have been. Woven...

Chlorine Sky

Chlorine Sky

By Mahogany L. Browne

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X

She looks me hard in my eyes
& my knees lock into tree trunks
My ...





If you swooned over Emily in Paris, you should read Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau.

Emily in Paris follows an American marketing expert as she moves to Paris and navigates love, career struggles, and the search for the perfect pain au chocolat. If the show had you dreaming of a trip to France, you’ve definitely got to read Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau. In this adorable YA romance, Mia, an American high school student and aspiring ballerina, heads to France to attend a prestigious summer dance program. Louis, the son of the very strict program director, proves to be an attractive distraction as he offers to show her around on his Vespa.

Kisses and Croissants

Kisses and Croissants

By Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, with writing as crisp as a freshly baked baguette, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix's To All the Boys I've Loved Before.

Mia Jenrow has always known she's destined to be a professional ballerina. In fact, it&rsquo...

If you got chills watching The Haunting of Hill House, you should read Don’t Tell a Soul by Kirsten Miller.

We got serious chills watching the Crain siblings revisit a childhood spent in Hill House, a creepy haunted mansion. If you loved the spooky paranormal vibe of the show, we recommend Don’t Tell a Soul by Kiersten Miller.This paranormal YA also features a house with a terrifying history: a mansion on the Hudson River that stole the souls of a group of girls.

Don't Tell a Soul

Don't Tell a Soul

By Kirsten Miller

Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious--a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her.

People say the house is cursed.
It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims.
In Louth, they're called the Dead Girls.

All Bram wanted was to disappear--from her old life, her fa...





If you were addicted to Outer Banks, you should read Breathless by Jennifer Niven.

Outer Banks was pure summer fun. In the show, a group of teenage friends in a small coastal town search for a treasure that went missing after a famous nineteenth-century shipwreck. If you loved the show’s beachy vibe and emphasis on friendship and young love, we think you should read Breathless by Jennifer Niven. This YA romance takes place on a remote Georgia island and also offers up a swoony teen romance and a sun-kissed setting.

Breathless

Breathless

By Jennifer Niven

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places comes a compulsively readable novel about a young woman determined to write her own story--sex, heartbreak, family dramas, and all.

With high school coming to an end, Claudine Henry is focused on four things: sex, starting college, becoming a famous writer, and... sex. But when her parents announce they're splitting up, her entire world begins to fa...

If you couldn’t stop watching You, you should read Monsters Among Us by Monica Rodden.

You, a series about an obsessive New York City bookstore manager with violent tendencies, had us peeking through our fingers at the screen. If you loved You’s dark tone and literary vibe, try Monsters Among Us by Monica Rodden. This creepy YA thriller is loosely inspired by Wuthering Heights. Catherine, a college student home from winter break, is trying to forget the night she was assaulted. She’s horrified when a local girl she used to babysit is murdered and decides to team up with an old friend and a mysterious new one to try to catch a killer.

Monsters Among Us

Monsters Among Us

By Monica Rodden

Fans of Sadie and You will be riveted by this compulsively readable new thriller about a survivor of dating violence who uses her newfound awareness of everyday evil to hunt for a killer.

When Catherine Ellers returns home after her first semester at college, she is seeking refuge from a night she can barely piece together, dreads remembering, and refuses to talk about. She tries to get back to normal, but just days la...

If you adored To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, you should read 11 Paper Hearts by Kelsey Hartwell.

If you loved To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, you should also read the much-beloved YA trilogy (written by author Jenny Han) that inspired the show. But maybe you’re looking for something new? In that case, we think you should try 11 Paper Hearts by Kelsey Hartwell. Like To All the Boys, this YA rom-com has a sweet, romantic vibe and a letter-writing element. A year after the car accident that stole her memory, Ella starts receiving mysterious heart-shaped notes from a secret admirer. Will following the notes remind her how to follow her heart?

11 Paper Hearts

11 Paper Hearts

By Kelsey Hartwell

Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved Before and The Kissing Booth, this teen romance is about a girl who follows a trail of paper hearts from her mystery admirer and learns that sometimes love can find you in mysterious ways. 

Ella’s life was picture perfect. She had a circle of close friends, a jam-packed social life, and an amazing boyfriend. But then something completely unexpec...

If you were outraged watching Just Mercy or The Innocence Files, try This Is My America by Kim Johnson.

The Innocence Files and Just Mercy cast a critical eye at the inequities within the American criminal justice system. This Is My America by Kim Johnson is a fictionalized look at the same topic, focusing on the efforts of teenager Tracy Beaumont to free her wrongfully incarcerated father and defend her brother against murder charges. You can also check out Just Mercy: A True Story of the Fight for Justice by Bryan Stevenson, a YA adaptation of social justice activist Bryan Stevenson’s acclaimed memoir.

This Is My America

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson

"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.


Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on dea...



If you were charmed by Virgin River, try Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock.

Virgin River seems picture-perfect, with friendly residents who love to gather at a riverside bar and grill. But the town is also filled with secrets, heartbreak, and drama. If you love the show’s large cast of characters and friendly small-town feel, we recommend Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock. This heartfelt collection of stories features teens in small towns across the American West and Alaska.

Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town

Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town

By Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that connects the lives of young people from small towns in Alaska and the American west. Each story is unique, yet universal.

In this book, the impact of wildfire, a wayward priest, or a mysterious disappearance ricochet across communities, threading through stories. Here, ordinary actions such as ice skating or going to church reveal hidden truths. One choice threatens...

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments