Loving Disney Plus? If You Loved These Disney Classics, You’ll Love These YA Books

If you're feeling nostalgic thanks to the new Disney Plus streaming service, here are some great book recommendations based on your favorite classic Disney movies! If you loved...

Mulan, read:

Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

By Elizabeth Lim

To save her ailing father from a court summons, Maia dresses as a boy and goes in his place. There, she competes for a prestigious tailoring position and travels all over China collecting mythical materials to make three magic gowns.

Cinderella, read:

Chinese Cinderella

Chinese Cinderella

By Adeline Yen Mah

Chinese Cinderella is a riveting memoir of a girl who grew up in a wealthy but cruel family in the 1940s. Adeline and her brothers are neglected and mistreated by their stepmother and spoiled stepsiblings.

Anastasia, read:

Blood Heir

Blood Heir

By Amélie Wen Zhao

This hot debut is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the con man she must trust to clear her name for her father’s murder. In the Cyrilian Empire, Affinites are reviled. Their varied gifts to control the world around them are unnatural—dangerous. And Anastacya Mikhailov, the crown princess, has a terrifying secret. Her deadly Affinity to blood is her curse and the reason she has lived her life hidden behind palace walls. In this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of all.

The Little Mermaid, read:

House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows

By Erin A. Craig

If you love the romance, sister story, and sea setting of The Little Mermaid, you'll get swept away by this spellbinding novel. As one by one her beautiful sisters mysteriously die on their isolated island estate, Annaleigh must unravel the curse that haunts her family.

The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad, read:

The Lantern's Ember

The Lantern's Ember

By Colleen Houck

If you want something on the spooky side, you’ll adore The Lantern’s Ember. Forbidden love, magic, and a whirlwind adventure combine into a chilling novel about the first Halloween.

Coco, read . . .

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

By Erika L. Sánchez

When Julia’s sister dies, she decides to learn more about her and the secrets she kept. Rich in Mexican traditions and family expectations, this is a story about a girl learning to find her own way.

Aladdin, read:

The Wrath & the Dawn

The Wrath & the Dawn

By Renée Ahdieh

If you loved the action, romance, and desert setting of Aladdin, you’ll adore this double-edged love story inspired by The Thousand and One Nights.

Beauty and the Beast, read:

Of Beast and Beauty

Of Beast and Beauty

By Stacey Jay

With a dark setting and impossible odds, this heart-wrenching retelling of the classic fairy tale will make you ugly-cry and fall in love at the same time.

Sleeping Beauty, read:

Princess of Thorns

Princess of Thorns

By Stacey Jay

Discover what happens after Sleeping Beauty finds her happily ever after. Dive into a world where princesses are also cursed fairies with magical abilities and a thirst for adventure.

Snow White, read:

Dark Shimmer

Dark Shimmer

By Donna Jo Napoli

An anti-heroine, a passion for mirror making, and a heart slowly turning evil make this a can’t-miss retelling of the classic Disney favorite.

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 1 Comment
  1. unikyky25

    Cool!

    Please complete the required fields.



    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
    Reply 0 Replies Nov 11, 2019