Did You Love Aladdin? If You Loved These Disney Classics, You'll Love These YA Books

We are digging the live-action Disney movie trend, so of course we went to see Aladdin immediately. But sometimes the movie just isn’t enough. If you’re feeling nostalgic or obsessing over the latest Disney live-action film, here are some great book recommendations based on your favorite movies.

If you loved . . .

Aladdin, read:

The Wrath & the Dawn

The Wrath & the Dawn

By Renée Ahdieh

If you loved the action, romance, and desert setting of Aladdin, you’ll adore this double-edged love story inspired by The Thousand and One Nights.

Mulan, read:

Spin the Dawn

Spin the Dawn

By Elizabeth Lim

To save her ailing father from a court summons, Maia dresses as a boy and goes in his place. There, she competes for a prestigious tailoring position and travels all over China collecting mythical materials to make three magic gowns.

Beauty and the Beast, read:

Of Beast and Beauty

Of Beast and Beauty

By Stacey Jay

With a dark setting and impossible odds, this heart-wrenching retelling of the classic fairy tale will make you ugly-cry and fall in love at the same time.

Cinderella, read:

Chinese Cinderella

Chinese Cinderella

By Adeline Yen Mah

Chinese Cinderella is a riveting memoir of a girl who grew up in a wealthy but cruel family in the 1940s. Adeline and her brothers are neglected and mistreated by their stepmother and spoiled stepsiblings.

The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad, read:

The Lantern's Ember

The Lantern's Ember

By Colleen Houck

If you want something on the spooky side, you’ll adore The Lantern’s Ember. Forbidden love, magic, and a whirlwind adventure combine into a chilling novel about the first Halloween.

Coco, read . . .

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter

By Erika L. Sánchez

When Julia’s sister dies, she decides to learn more about her and the secrets she kept. Rich in Mexican traditions and family expectations, this is a story about a girl learning to find her own way.

Sleeping Beauty, read:

Princess of Thorns

Princess of Thorns

By Stacey Jay

Discover what happens after Sleeping Beauty finds her happily ever after. Dive into a world where princesses are also cursed fairies with magical abilities and a thirst for adventure.

Snow White, read:

Dark Shimmer

Dark Shimmer

By Donna Jo Napoli

An anti-heroine, a passion for mirror making, and a heart slowly turning evil make this a can’t-miss retelling of the classic Disney favorite.

Brave, read:

Deception's Princess

Deception's Princess

By Esther Friesner

If you like stories about headstrong princesses who have adventures and don’t want to get married, pick up Deception’s Princess. Based on actual history, this Irish princess’s story will steal your heart.

Comments

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Comment 0 Comments