Get a YA Book Rec Based on Your Favorite Romance Trope!

Let’s be honest—we all have a favorite YA romance trope we can’t resist. Tell us your romance trope of choice (your secret is safe with us), and discover your next favorite novel! Whether it’s second-chance romance or forbidden love, we’ve got a YA book rec that you’ll adore.

YA Romance Trope: Dating a royal
Book Rec:
American Royals by Katharine McGee

This series ticks several romance trope boxes, so there’s a good chance it will appeal to you even if you enjoy one of the other tropes on this list. Forbidden romance, love triangles, and royals dating commoners combine into an irresistible trilogy that any YA romance reader will adore.

American Royals

American Royals

What if America had a royal family? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. This New York Times bestseller is perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

YA Romance Trope: Dating on a dare
Book Rec:
Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye

We know that dares can be dangerous, but this one goes very, very well. A simple dare gives Kai Sheridan a chance to date the boy of his dreams—Bryson Keller. But Bryson is straight, and Kai knows that he only has five days to (secretly) live out his fantasy before Bryson moves on.

Date Me, Bryson Keller

Date Me, Bryson Keller

What If It’s Us meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this upbeat and heartfelt boy-meets-boy romance that feels like a modern twist on a ’90s rom-com!

YA Romance Trope: Second-chance romance
Book Rec:
Girl Crushed by Katie Heaney

If you love second chances as much as we do, then you’re going to adore Girl Crushed! It’s about a teenage girl named Quinn who falls in love with her best friend, Jamie, then falls out of love with her and starts exploring other options. When you need a story about the ups and downs of love, you’ll love this book!

Girl Crushed

Girl Crushed

Leah on the Offbeat meets We Are Okay in this pitch-perfect queer romance about falling in love and never quite falling out of it–heartbreak, unexpected new crushes, and all.

YA Romance Trope: Sworn off dating romance
Book Rec:
Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon

Would you still fall in love if you knew your relationship would end? Evie Thomas can foresee the ending of every romance, so she swears off dating forever. But when she meets X at a dance class, she must decide if the inevitable heartbreak is worth the joy of finding love.

Instructions for Dancing

Instructions for Dancing

In this romantic page-turner from the author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star, Evie has the power to see other people’s romantic fates—what will happen when she finally sees her own?

YA Romance Trope: Dating on vacation
Book Rec: Kisses and Croissants by Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Okay, Mia isn’t technically on vacation—she’s in Paris for a summer ballet program. But with a cute French boy, sightseeing, and delicious food tossed into the mix, this swoony novel gives off plenty of dating-on-vacation vibes. And since international travel isn’t possible for everyone, this story offers an effortless escape to the City of Love.

Kisses and Croissants

Kisses and Croissants

The perfect Valentine’s Day novel! As sweet as a macaron from Laduree, this romantic novel set in Paris about an American ballerina and a charming French boy is parfait for fans of American Royals and Netflix’s Emily in Paris.

YA Romance Trope: Fake dating
Book Rec: Like a Love Song by Gabriela Martins

What should you do when your pop star persona takes a public hit? Hire a fake boyfriend, of course! Grab your favorite drink and snuggle up with this adorable and upbeat romance novel about music, fame, and fabricated love turning real.

Like a Love Song

Like a Love Song

This debut paperback original romance follows a Latina teen pop star whose image takes a dive after a messy public breakup, until she’s set up with a swoon-worthy fake boyfriend.

YA Romance Trope: Enemies to lovers
Book Rec: Love from Scratch by Kaitlyn Hill

Get ready for the yummiest enemies-to-lovers romance novel of the season! Food, rivalry, and a cooking channel internship unexpectedly bring Reese and Benny together. But even though they drive each other crazy, their show’s viewers (and ratings) are counting on them falling in love.

Love from Scratch

Love from Scratch

Rival interns with sizzling chemistry in and out of the kitchen? That’s a recipe for love. Reese can’t deny the chemistry between her and Benny. But the more their rivalry heats up, the harder it is to keep love on the back burner . . .

YA Romance Trope: Opposites attract
Book Rec: The Matchbreaker Summer by Annie Rains

This novel is like The Parent Trap in reverse—summer camp, a devious breakup plot, and an unexpected romance! Paisley’s mom is getting remarried and closing the summer camp they run together. So Paisley teams up with her (cute but annoying) coworker Hayden to plot her mom’s relationship’s demise. But she doesn’t expect to fall in love with him.

The Matchbreaker Summer

The Matchbreaker Summer

A pitch-perfect summer camp rom-com about two teens with nothing in common who come together to help break up a romance and unexpectedly start one of their own . . .

YA Romance Trope: Study buddy romance
Book Rec: Salaam, with Love by Sara Sharaf Beg

The best part of reading a YA romance is the feel-good vibes, and this adorable novel delivers heaps of them. It’s about Dua, a Muslim teen spending Ramadan with her relatives in New York City. She wants to memorize verses from the Quran and enlists the help of Hassan, a cute drummer in a band. This heartwarming novel will keep you smiling the whole way through.

Salaam, with Love

Salaam, with Love

This heartfelt and humorous YA contemporary follows Dua, who spends the month of Ramadan making unexpected discoveries about family, faith, and first love.

YA Romance Trope: Forbidden romance
Book Rec: Sunkissed by Kasie West

Dirty Dancing die-hards, this book is for you! A summer-long family camp at an exclusive resort results in Avery stretching her wings and learning more about herself. From secretly singing in a band to falling for a very off-limits staff member, Avery’s summer turns out far more exciting than she expected.

Sunkissed

Sunkissed

A perfect Valentine’s read for romantics everywhere is this swoony contemporary YA romance by fan-favorite author Kasie West about a girl who finds that a summer spent at a family resort isn’t as bad as she imagined . . . and that falling in love is filled with heartache, laughter, and surprises!

YA Romance Trope: Love triangles and squares
Book Rec: Year on Fire by Julie Buxbaum

There’s nothing better than a love triangle, except maybe a love square. Whatever your desired romance shape, you’ll find plenty of messy friendship and relationship drama in Julie Buxbaum’s latest novel. And if you need more complicated love stories featuring quirky, cute, and adorkable teens, pick up her other novels, too.

Year on Fire

Year on Fire

What secrets will people keep—or reveal—to protect those they love? This novel, set against the frightening backdrop of an encroaching fire season, sparks reflection about friendship, the allure of romantic love, and loyalty to family.

Did you enjoy this article on YA romance tropes? Get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined