11 YA Mysteries and Thrillers If You Loved We Were Liars

It’s no wonder that We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is the book everyone is talking about with its private island setting, mind-bending twist, and lies upon lies. If you’ve read this #1 New York Times bestseller, there’s no doubt you loved it and are looking for more twisty, suspenseful YA mysteries and thrillers to read.

We’ve got you covered! Check out this list of YA mysteries and thrillers to add to your TBR, including the prequel, Family of Liars by E. Lockhart.

Family of Liars

Family of Liars

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The addictive prequel to the TikTok phenomenon We Were Liars: the story of another summer, another generation—and the secrets that will haunt them for decades to come.

“I anticipated that at some point a shocking twist would come. And, wow, does it ever.” —The New York Times

Welcome back to the Sinclair family.
They were always liars.

Genuine Fraud

Genuine Fraud

From the author of We Were Liars, which John Green called “utterly unforgettable,” comes a mind-bending, New York Times bestselling thriller told in reverse.

Imogen lives at the Playa Grande Resort in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. She spends her days working out in the hotel gym and telling other guests how she was forced out of Stanford. But Imogen isn’t really Imogen. She’s Jule. And she’s on the run from something. Or someone. Which means . . . where is the real Imogen?

Five Survive

Five Survive

By Holly Jackson

Coming 04.02.24

Eight hours. Six friends. Five survive. A road trip turns deadly in this addictive YA thriller from the bestselling author of the worldwide phenomenon A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

Red Kenny is on a road trip for spring break with five friends: Her best friend – the older brother – his perfect girlfriend – a secret crush – a classmate – and a killer. When their RV breaks down in the middle of nowhere with no cell service, they soon realize this is no accident. They have been trapped by someone out there in the dark, someone who clearly wants one of them dead.

The Cheerleaders

The Cheerleaders

By Kara Thomas

Coming 04.02.24

“Sharp, brilliantly plotted, and totally engrossing.”–KAREN M. MCMANUS, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

“A crafty, dark, and disturbing story.”–KATHLEEN GLASGOW, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces

“A little bit Riverdale and a little bit Veronica Mars.”–RILEY SAGER, bestselling author of Final Girls

From the author of The Darkest Corners and Little Monsters comes an all-new edge-of-your-seat thriller set in upstate New York about an eerie sequence of seemingly unrelated events that leaves five cheerleaders dead.

This Is My America

This Is My America

“Incredible and searing.” Nic Stone#1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row with only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl…

That Weekend

That Weekend

“A bold and expertly plotted page-turner.” –Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie

From the author of The Cheerleaders, comes a thriller about best friends on a weekend getaway that goes horribly, dangerously wrong.

It was supposed to be the perfect prom weekend getaway. But it’s clear something terrible happened when Claire wakes up alone and bloodied on a hiking trail with no memory of the past forty-eight hours–and her best friends are missing…

The Fear

The Fear

The instant New York Times and USA TODAY bestseller!

Hot on the heels of the New York Times bestsellers The Twin and The Lake, the undisputed queen of YA thrillers is back.

Don’t be afraid. Be terrified.

It’s just a stupid meme that’s going around their small fishing town in the dead of winter—people reposting and sharing their biggest fear. But when her classmates start turning up dead—dying in the way that they said scared them the most—Izzy knows it’s no joke. She’s soon on a path that will lead her right to the killer . . . and her own worst nightmare.

The Cousins

The Cousins

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying comes your next obsession. You’ll never feel the same about family again.

The entire Story family has secrets. Whatever pulled them apart years ago isn’t over–and this summer, the cousins will learn everything.

Nothing More to Tell

Nothing More to Tell

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the critically acclaimed author of One of Us Is Lying comes a new page-turning mystery. Be sure to keep your friends close . . . and your secrets closer.

Four years ago, Brynn left Saint Ambrose School following the shocking murder of her favorite teacher—a story that made headlines after the teacher’s body was found by three Saint Ambrose students in the woods behind their school. The case was never solved. Now that Brynn is moving home and starting her dream internship at a true-crime show, she’s determined to find out what really happened…

Burn Our Bodies Down

Burn Our Bodies Down

“[A] deliriously creepy tale…that’ll keep your nightmares up at night.” –Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Wilder Girls comes a feverishly twisty thriller about a girl whose past has always been a mystery–until she decides to return to her mother’s hometown . . . where history has a tendency to repeat itself.

Ever since Margot was born, it’s been just her and her mother, struggling to get along. But that’s not enough for Margot. She wants family. She wants a past. And she may have just found the answer: A photograph, pointing her to a town called Phalene. Only, when Margot gets there, it’s not what she bargained for…

The Ivies

The Ivies

Enroll in this boarding school thriller about a group of prep school elites who would kill to get into the college of their dreams…literally.

“The Plastics meet the Heathers in this murder mystery about ruthless Ivy League ambition.” -Kirkus Reviews

Alexa Donne delivers a nail-biting and timely thriller about teens who will stop at nothing to get into the college of their dreams. Too bad no one told them murder isn’t an extracurricular.

Did you enjoy this article on YA mysteries and thrillers? Get more book recommendations here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined