YA Dragon Books for Fans of House of the Dragon

Dragons are probably some of the coolest mythical creatures ever, which is why we’re looking forward to season two of House of the Dragon on Max! If you can’t get enough of stories about dragons, here are some YA dragon books for fans of House of the Dragon and fans of dragons in general.

Murtagh: Deluxe Edition

Murtagh: Deluxe Edition

By Christopher Paolini

Coming 10.15.24

A stunning deluxe edition of Christopher Paolini’s instant #1 New York Times bestseller set in the World of Eragon, featuring fan favorite Murtagh and his dragon—with exclusive features and new content:

  • A long-anticipated scene featuring Eragon and Murtagh
  • Stunning red decorative stained and stenciled edges
  • A gorgeous, embellished foil-stamped cover
  • Never-before-seen full-color maps of Alagaësia and, for the first time, the world beyond
  • A full-color painting of Mt. Arngor
  • A letter from Jeod
  • Two pieces of original black-and-white artwork by Christopher Paolini
The Inheritance Cycle 4-Book Trade Paperback Boxed Set

The Inheritance Cycle 4-Book Trade Paperback Boxed Set

Experience the international fantasy sensation that is the Inheritance Cycle with this complete collection of the New York Times bestselling series!

“Christopher Paolini is a true rarity.” —The Washington Post

One boy, one dragon, and a world of adventure come together in this four-book boxed set collection that makes a perfect gift for fantasy fans.

The Dragon's Promise

The Dragon's Promise

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling, Six Crimson Cranes Shiori must journey to the kingdom of dragons, return a cursed pearl with the power to destroy the world, and fight to hold on to all that is dear to her. Fans of Shadow and Bone will devour this soaring fantasy from the acclaimed author of Spin the Dawn.

Seraphina

Seraphina

Lyrical, imaginative, and wholly original, this New York Times bestseller with 8 starred reviews is not to be missed.  Rachel Hartman’s award-winning debut will have you looking at dragons as you’ve never imagined them before…

Shadow Scale

Shadow Scale

Dragons and humans are at war in this eagerly awaited sequel to the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling fantasy, Seraphina.

Tess of the Road

Tess of the Road

From the critically acclaimed and bestselling author of Seraphina comes a tour de force and an exquisite feminist fantasy.

“Astonishing and perfect.” —NPR

Even More YA Dragon Books

Did you enjoy our recommended YA dragon books for fans of House of the Dragon? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined