[wps_cart_icon]

YA Books to Read on Your Next Snow Day

Winter is the perfect time to curl up with a cup of hot tea and a good book. Because we’re big fans of all things cozy, we put together this list of YA books to read on your next snow day. You’ll find romance, fantasy, historical novels, and thrillers with major winter vibes. The next time you’re stuck inside on a snow day, escape with one of these wintery YA novels.

Crimson Reign

Crimson Reign

For fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Six of Crows comes the thrilling conclusion to the Blood Heir trilogy. A princess with a dark secret must ally with a con man to liberate her empire from a reign of terror in this epic fantasy retelling of the Anastasia story.

Monsters Among Us

Monsters Among Us

Home for the winter break after her first semester at college, Catherine is still reeling from a horrific attack. When her friend is murdered, she enlists her childhood playmate Henry to help her investigate. Things become even more complicated when a boy from college shows up, claiming to know what happened to Catherine. As she looks into both crimes, Catherine uncovers her small town’s hidden secrets and dark obsessions.

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass (HBO Tie-In Edition)

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass (HBO Tie-In Edition)

Magic, adventure, peril, and a mystical element await in the pages of this modern fantasy classic! If you’ve never read about Lyra’s journey to the far North and her brush with destiny, it’s time to catch up on your reading. Get an early start because once you open this book, your snow day will be gone before you know it! And when you’ve finished reading, you can binge-watch the HBO series!

The Holiday Switch

The Holiday Switch

Two rival coworkers with two very big secrets . . . What could possibly go wrong? Cozy up with this charming holiday romance by USA Today bestselling author Tif Marcelo.

New Year's Kiss

New Year's Kiss

Take a winter vacation to the Evergreen Lodge, nestled in the mountains of Vermont. It’s a place of snow, romance, and dreams. When Tess meets Christopher in the lounge, the two teens embark on a mission to cross off as many items from their bucket lists as possible. This wintry YA romance novel is a must-read!

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares (Netflix Series Tie-In Edition)

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares (Netflix Series Tie-In Edition)

We can’t think of anything cozier than spending the holidays in New York City. When Lily leaves a notebook filled with challenges in a bookstore, Dash picks it up. The two teens spend their winter break exploring the city, trading dares, and falling in love. After you’ve read the book, make sure to watch the Netflix adaptation!

All I Want for Christmas

All I Want for Christmas

It doesn’t have to be the festive season to read a YA romance set during Christmastime. If you want to spend your snow day snuggled up with a feel-good book, look no further. Christmas wishes, mistletoe, romance, and plenty of snow are waiting for you.

House of Salt and Sorrows

House of Salt and Sorrows

By Erin A. Craig

Coming 04.04.23

In the mood for something spookier? Pick up this retelling of “Twelve Dancing Princesses.” You’ll get lost in this bone-chilling story about curses, dark magic, and a girl with ghostly visions. It’s the perfect way to spend a cold evening at home.

A Cloud of Outrageous Blue

A Cloud of Outrageous Blue

There’s nothing quite like reading about the Black Plague when you’re living in the middle of a global pandemic. When she loses her parents unexpectedly, Edyth’s brother sends her to live in a priory. There, she comes to terms with her new life and even finds love. If you love historical fiction, you’ll obsess over this gorgeously illustrated novel.

The Court of Miracles

The Court of Miracles

If you love classic literature, you’ll adore this retelling of Les Misérables set in 1828 in an alternate Paris. With crime rings, sisterhood, royalty, and war, this YA novel is a fast-paced page-turner that you won’t be able to put down.

Nowhere on Earth

Nowhere on Earth

Emily finds a boy named Aidan wandering in the woods and wants to help him get home—even if home is not on Earth. When their airplane crashes into a mountain, Emily, Aidan, and the pilot struggle to make it out alive. Along the way, they’ll battle the freezing temperatures while trying to evade the government forces tracking them. This strange, poignant book will keep you thinking even after you’ve turned the last page.

Winter War Awakening (Blood Rose Rebellion, Book 3)

Winter War Awakening (Blood Rose Rebellion, Book 3)

This is the breathtaking conclusion to the Blood Rose Rebellion trilogy. If you haven’t read this series, you should binge it on your next snow day! It’s a mash-up of history and fantasy set during the Hungarian Revolution. The beautiful writing and fast-paced plot will keep you turning pages as quickly as you can devour them.

The Fear

The Fear

It’s just a stupid meme that’s going around their small fishing town in the dead of winter—people reposting and sharing their biggest fear. But when her classmates start turning up dead—dying in the way that they said scared them the most—Izzy knows it’s no joke. With each death hitting closer to home, Izzy sets out to try to stop the killer. But Izzie’s soon on a path that will lead her right to the killer . . . and her own worst nightmare.

Did you enjoy this list of YA books to read on your next snow day? Discover more book nerd content here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined