YA Books to Read If You’re Obsessed with Podcasts and TV Shows About True Crime and Murder

Calling all murder podcast junkies! We love a good whodunit as much as anyone, which is why we collected these fantastic young adult murder mystery novels into a reading list. Secrets, suspense, mystery, and murder—you’ll get everything you love about your favorite murder podcast or TV show from the pages of these books. Next time you’re in between episodes of Serial, pick up one of these YA novels to tide you over. They’ll keep you reading well past your bedtime!

Here are our top picks of books to read if you love true crime and murder podcasts and TV shows!

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

If you’re obsessed with cold cases, you’ll love this fast-paced whodunit. Five years ago, Sal murdered his girlfriend and then committed suicide. At least, that’s what the police say. But when Pippa decides to look into the case for a homework assignment, she realizes it may not be so open and shut after all. With clues, secrets, and a possible killer still on the loose, this book will keep you glued to the page.

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

THE MUST-READ MULTIMILLION BESTSELLING MYSTERY SERIES• Everyone is talking about A Good Girl's Guide to Murder! With shades of Serial and Making a Murderer this is the story about an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty...

All the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault

Murder in an amusement park? Yes, please! When a dead body turns up at her family’s amusement park, Ivy doesn’t believe it was an accident as the police claim. As she searches for clues, she unearths dark secrets about her coworkers, friends, and the night the boy died.

All the Pretty Things

All the Pretty Things

"A skillfully plotted mystery, bursting with the glare and feverish energy of its summer amusement park setting. The atmosphere creeps up on you...[and] dark secrets await."--Holly Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

For fans of Sadie and One of Us Is Lying comes a thr...

One of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManus

Take another trip to Bayview and get sucked into a deadly game of truth or dare in the captivating sequel to One of Us Is Lying. They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, and someone at Bayview High is determined to resurrect Simon’s legacy. The mystery behind Simon’s death may have been solved, but the fun has just begun. Get ready to cringe, laugh, and gasp your way through this book!

One of Us Is Next

One of Us Is Next

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The highly anticipated sequel to One of Us Is Lying! There's a new mystery to solve at Bayview High, and there's a whole new set of rules.

Fans of the hit thriller that started it all can watch the secrets of the Bayview Four be revealed in the One of Us is Lying TV series now strea...

The Twin by Natasha Preston

For Ivy and Iris, being identical twins is much more than matching outfits and playing pranks on substitute teachers. After their mom dies, Iris moves in with Ivy and their dad. At first, Ivy comforts her twin and offers her support. But soon, Ivy realizes that Iris is trying to replace her and could very well succeed. She starts to question how their mom really died and whether Iris could be responsible for her death. Talk about sibling rivalry!

The Twin

The Twin

The instant New York Times bestseller!

In this twisty psychological thriller from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of THE CELLAR, Ivy wants to share everything with her twin sister . . . until her twin starts to push her out of her own life.


Ivy and Iris haven’t lived together for years—...

The Cheerleaders by Kara Thomas

After the deaths of five cheerleaders, Sunnybrook High disbanded the cheer squad. Now Monica, the younger sister of one of the dead cheerleaders, starts noticing strange things happening again. As she digs into the town’s past, Monica turns up clues about her sister’s death. But someone is willing to kill to keep those clues a secret, and Monica is getting awfully close to the truth.

The Cheerleaders

The Cheerleaders

"Sharp, brilliantly plotted, and totally engrossing."--KAREN M. MCMANUS, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"A crafty, dark, and disturbing story."--KATHLEEN GLASGOW, New York Times bestselling author of Girl In Pieces

"A little bit ...

The Window by Amelia Brunskill

How well can you know a person? When Anna falls to her death from her bedroom window, her twin sister, Jess, looks for closure by digging up Anna’s secrets. Although everyone else says Anna’s death was a terrible accident, Jess is beginning to think otherwise. If you like layered, clever stories about sisters, secrets, and possible murder, pick up a copy of this book!

The Window

The Window

"A gripping tale of suspense, secrets, and the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

If you loved The Twin and One of Us Is Lying, get ready for a heart-wrenching psychological thriller about a girl who knows her twin sister ...

Did you love our list of books to read if you love true crime and murder podcasts and TV shows? Check out our other articles here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
32
Post a comment
5 Likes 4 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
32

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined