YA Books to Read If You Love True Crime TV Shows and Podcasts

Calling all murder podcast junkies! We love a good whodunit as much as anyone, which is why we collected these fantastic young adult murder mystery novels into a reading list. Secrets, suspense, mystery, and murder—you’ll get everything you love about your favorite murder podcast or TV show from the pages of these books. Next time you’re in between episodes of My Favorite Murder, pick up one of these YA novels to tide you over. They’ll keep you reading well past your bedtime!

Here are our top picks of books to read if you love true crime and murder podcasts and TV shows!

One of Us Is Back

One of Us Is Back

The global phenomenon returns with the third book in the One of Us Is Lying series, from #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen M. McManus. When someone from the Bayview Four’s past resurfaces, history begins to repeat itself—and the consequences are deadly.

The third time’s a charm.

Catch up on the full series!

Karen M. McManus 2-Book Paperback Boxed Set

Karen M. McManus 2-Book Paperback Boxed Set

From the undisputed queen of thrillers comes a boxed set that includes the two bestselling thrillers in young adult fiction, One of Us Is Lying and its sequel, One of Us Is Next.

“When it comes to YA suspense, Karen M. McManus is in a league of her own.” —Entertainment Weekly

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

Nothing More to Tell

Nothing More to Tell

By Karen M. McManus

Coming 07.30.24

Four years ago, Brynn left Saint Ambrose School following the shocking murder of her favorite teacher—a story that made headlines after the teacher’s body was found by three Saint Ambrose students in the woods behind their school. The case was never solved. Now that Brynn is moving home and starting her dream internship at a true-crime show, she’s determined to find out what really happened.

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Complete Series Paperback Boxed Set

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Complete Series Paperback Boxed Set

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES • The must-read mystery series everyone is talking about that began with A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is now available in a three-book paperback boxed set!

Read between the lies…

The Night in Question

The Night in Question

How do you solve a murder? Follow the lessons of the master—Agatha Christie! Iris and Alice find themselves in the middle of another Castle Cove mystery in the sequel to New York Times bestseller The Agathas, by powerhouse authors Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson.

The Wicked Unseen

The Wicked Unseen

The new girl in town is having trouble fitting into a community that believes there’s a secret Satanic cult conducting rituals in the woods. When her crush goes missing, she starts to wonder if the town’s obsession with evil isn’t covering up something far worse. Perfect for fans of Fear Street!

The Haunting

The Haunting

#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Natasha Preston is back with another pulse-pounding, twisty read!

Haunted by the past . . .

Hatchet Girls

Hatchet Girls

Set more than one hundred years after the Borden murders, this propulsive, supernatural thriller imagines what might happen if history were to repeat itself today. Perfect for fans of Kara Thomas and Courtney Summers!

More Murder Mystery Page-Turners

Did you love our list of books to read if you love true crime podcasts and TV shows? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined