Celebrate Pride with Underlined!

BOOK NERD PRIDE! Underlined is proud to publish books about queer and trans characters, and will continue to share and support these titles. Check out the list of young adult books below that celebrate the queer and trans community.

Across a Field of Starlight

Across a Field of Starlight

An epic sci-fi graphic novel romance between two non-binary characters as they find one another through time, distance, and war. An amazing story that explores the complexity of human nature and what brings us together.

Ariel Crashes a Train

Ariel Crashes a Train

“A gorgeously kind, wonderfully gentle, and unfailingly compassionate depiction of OCD . . . bursting with light.”
— Ashley Woodfolk, critically acclaimed author of Nothing Burns As Bright As You

Exploring the harsh reality of OCD and violent intrusive thoughts in stunning, lyrical writing, this novel-in-verse conjures a haunting yet hopeful portrait of a girl on the edge. From the author of Dear Medusa, which New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed called “a fierce and brightly burning feminist roar.”

Bitter

Bitter

From National Book Award finalist Akwaeke Emezi comes a companion novel to the critically acclaimed Pet that explores both the importance and cost of social revolution–and how youth lead the way.

The Borrow a Boyfriend Club

The Borrow a Boyfriend Club

A feel-good, coming-of-age rom-com from debut author Page Powars that follows a trans teen who joins a boyfriend borrowing service masquerading as an Italian Club to prove that he’s one of the guys, especially to its frustratingly handsome leader.

Boy Meets Boy

Boy Meets Boy

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance.

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance

A fresh, fun contemporary rom-com from debut author Elle Gonzalez Rose, about an aspiring artist who agrees to fake date one of his family’s longtime enemies in the hopes of gathering intel good enough to take down their rivals once and for all.

Date Me, Bryson Keller

Date Me, Bryson Keller

“One of the most adorable, big-hearted, charming books in existence.” —Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

What If It’s Us meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this upbeat and heartfelt boy-meets-boy romance that feels like a modern twist on a ’90s rom-com!

The Diablo's Curse

The Diablo's Curse

From the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Bargain and Most Ardently comes a high-stakes race to defeat a curse designed to kill—about a teen demon who wants to be human, a boy cursed to die young, and the murderous island destined to bury them both.

Fake Dates and Mooncakes

Fake Dates and Mooncakes

Heartstopper meets Crazy Rich Asians in this heartfelt, joyful paperback original rom-com that follows an aspiring chef who discovers the recipe for love is more complicated than it seems when he starts fake-dating a handsome new customer.

Friday I'm in Love

Friday I'm in Love

It’s too late for a Sweet Sixteen, but what if Mahalia had a coming-out party? A love letter to romantic comedies, sweet sixteen blowouts, Black joy, and queer pride.

“A perfect ode to romantic comedies, wrapped in a dazzling rainbow dress.”
—Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart and She Gets the Girl

Harley Quinn: Reckoning

Harley Quinn: Reckoning

Experience the origin story of a Super-Villain in this Harley Quinn backstory that fans have been waiting for—now available as a paperback.

Read the full series with Harley Quinn: Ravenous and Harley Quinn: Redemption.

I Think I Love You

I Think I Love You

A YA contemporary rom com about two girls who start as rivals but after a twist of events, end up falling for one another—at least they think so. A pitch perfect queer romance—and it’s a paperback original!

I Will Never Leave You

I Will Never Leave You

By Kara A. Kennedy

Coming 07.23.24

This emotional debut thriller follows a teen girl being haunted by the ghost of her toxic ex-girlfriend, who gives her a chilling ultimatum—help her possess another girl or go down for her murder.

“A blistering exploration of the ugliest and tenderest parts of love, Kennedy turns the classic ghost story on its head.”—Courtney Gould, author of The Dead and the Dark

The Last Boyfriends Rules for Revenge

The Last Boyfriends Rules for Revenge

A queer coming-of-age about three teenage boys in small town Alabama who set out to get revenge on their ex-boyfriends and end up starting a student rebellion. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jason June!

A Lesson in Vengeance

A Lesson in Vengeance

A dark, twisty thriller about a centuries-old, ivy-covered boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. The dangerous romance and atmospheric setting makes it a perfect read for fans of dark academia.

The Magic Fish

The Magic Fish

Tiến loves his family and his friends . . . but Tiến has a secret he’s been keeping from them, and it might change everything. An amazing YA graphic novel that deals with the complexity of family and how stories can bring us together.

Nate Plus One

Nate Plus One

Boy plus boy. Two weeks in Johannesburg. A summer of music, adventure, self-discovery . . . and definitely not love. What could go wrong?

Nate needs a date to his cousin’s wedding. Jai is Nate’s best friend and secret crush. Could Jai be Nate’s plus-one—and only?

Odd One Out

Odd One Out

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It’s Us.

Off the Record

Off the Record

The behind-the-scenes access of Almost Famous meets the searing revelations of metoo in this story of a teen journalist who uncovers the scandal of the decade.

Other Ever Afters

Other Ever Afters

Once upon a time . . . happily ever after turned out differently than expected. In this new, feminist, queer fairy-tale collection, you’ll find the princesses, mermaids, knights, barmaids, children, and wise old women who have been forced to sit on the sidelines in classic stories taking center stage. A gorgeous all-new collection in graphic novel format from a Stonewall Honor-winning author and artist.

Pet

Pet

A genre-defying novel from the award-winning author NPR describes as “like [Madeline] L’Engle . . . glorious.” A singular book that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look?

Ryan and Avery

Ryan and Avery

From the New York Times bestselling author of Every Day, this is a queer love story for the ages—told over the course of a couple’s first ten dates.

Six of Sorrow

Six of Sorrow

Sixteen years ago, six girls were born on the same day—and now, on their birthday, one of them is missing. From the author of Starlings comes a story about small-towns, friendships, and the terrifying things your parents don’t tell you, that’s perfect for fans of Yellowjackets.

The Society for Soulless Girls

The Society for Soulless Girls

A sapphic enemies-to-lovers retelling of Jekyll & Hyde, this dark academia thriller follows two roommates who must solve an infamous cold case of serial murders on their campus after an arcane ritual gone wrong prompts another death.

Stranger Things: Rebel Robin

Stranger Things: Rebel Robin

Discover the backstory of new Stranger Things fan favorite Robin–the perfect read for anyone looking forward to devouring the fourth season on Netflix—now available as a paperback!

The Rules of Us

The Rules of Us

Come out. Break up. Stay friends? In this heartwarming queer love story about love of all kinds, exes navigate new crushes, new feelings, and a newly uncertain future after unexpectedly coming out to each other on prom night turns their lives—and their friendship—upside down. Can they figure out how to move on without losing each other?

This Rebel Heart

This Rebel Heart

A tumultuous tale of the student-led 1956 Hungarian revolution—and an all too timely look at the impact of Communism and the USSR in Eastern Europe—set in a fabulist, colorless post-WWII Budapest from Sydney Taylor Honor winner Katherine Locke.

“A haunting, beautiful read that centers queer Jewish characters.” —BuzzFeed

Two Boys Kissing

Two Boys Kissing

From the New York Times bestselling author of Every Daythis love story of shared humanity and history Hypable calls “an interconnecting web that will leave you emotionally exhausted and absolutely thrilled to have read something so beautiful and unique.”

When You Were Everything

When You Were Everything

For fans of Nina LaCour’s We Are Okay and Adam Silvera’s History Is All You Left Me, this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting novel follows one sixteen-year-old girl’s friend breakup through two concurrent timelines—ultimately proving that even endings can lead to new beginnings.

The Wicked Bargain

The Wicked Bargain

El Diablo is in the details in this Latinx pirate fantasy starring a transmasculine nonbinary teen with a mission of revenge, redemption, and revolution.

Wide Awake Now

Wide Awake Now

From the New York Times bestselling author of Every Daythis is a queer love story set against the backdrop of the 2024 presidential election, in a reimagining of David Levithan’s 2004 novel Wide Awake.

Witchlight

Witchlight

Love—loss—witches—this YA fantasy graphic novel has it all! This thoughtful, emotional story will entrance you with its moving story and organic artwork.

Zombie Apocalypse Running Club

Zombie Apocalypse Running Club

By Carrie Mac

Coming 08.13.24

When twins Eira and Soren escape from their survivalist home into a world overcome by zombies, there’s only one way to stay alive: run!

Did you love this article about books for Pride? Check out other book recs here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined