YA Books for Fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender Based on What Type of Bender You Are

We’re fans of the original cartoon version of Avatar: The Last Airbender and we can’t wait to watch the new live-action version of Avatar: The Last Airbender on Netflix! Whether you’re a fan of the original show or are just discovering the live-action show for the first time, we’ve got book recommendations for you based on what type of bender you identify with the most. So what are you waiting for? Check out our YA book recommendations for fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender!

YA Books for Waterbenders

Snowglobe

Snowglobe

The Water Tribes feel right at home in the snow-covered arctic, so if you’re a Waterbender, you’ll want to read Snowglobe. In a world of constant winter, only the citizens of the climate-controlled city of Snowglobe can escape the bitter cold—but this perfect society is hiding dark and dangerous secrets within its frozen heart.

Discover More YA Books for Waterbenders

YA Books for Earthbenders

Spice Road

Spice Road

By Maiya Ibrahim

Coming 04.23.24

Just as Toph learned to bend the earth within metal, sixteen-year-old Imani has the affinity for iron and is able to wield a dagger like no other warrior. Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, Imani must fight to find her brother, whose betrayal is now the country’s greatest threat.

Discover More YA Books for Earthbenders

YA Books for Firebenders

Murtagh

Murtagh

Just as Prince Zuko was banished from the Fire Nation, Murtagh and his dragon Thorn have been exiled to the outskirts of society. Like Zuko, Murtagh must discover what he stands for in a world that has abandoned him while facing down a new enemy.

Discover More YA Books for Firebenders

YA Books for Airbenders

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes

A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse… Princess Shiori has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Just as the Air Nomads were hunted down for fear they would bring about the next Avatar, Shiori’s stepmother places a curse on her and her brothers for fear of Shiori’s magic.

Discover More YA Books for Airbenders

YA Books for the Avatar, Master of All Elements

The Gilded Ones #3: The Eternal Ones

The Gilded Ones #3: The Eternal Ones

The dazzling finale to the groundbreaking, New York Times bestselling Gilded Ones series. One girl holds the power to defeat the gods—but can she become one? Like the Avatar, Deka has the burden and the opportunity to become all-powerful and saving the world–but does she want it?

Discover More YA Books for the Avatar, Master of All Elements

Did you enjoy this list of book recommendations for fans of Avatar: The Last Airbender? Discover more book recommendations here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined