Six Quotes from Important Books to Commemorate Holocaust Remembrance Day

We’re commemorating Holocaust Remembrance Day with a reading list of powerful young adult novels. Holocaust Remembrance Day is recognized internationally and corresponds to the twenty-seventh day of Nisan on the Hebrew calendar. This year, we reflect on the lessons of the Holocaust by pausing to honor the lives lost and committing to advance with a renewed appreciation for life itself.

Here are six quotes to commemorate Holocaust Remembrance Day.

“Who am I? What is to become of me? What path should I take in life?” —Albert Marrin, A Light in the Darkness

A Light in the Darkness

A Light in the Darkness

By Albert Marrin

From National Book Award Finalist Albert Marrin comes the moving story of Janusz Korczak, the heroic Polish Jewish doctor who devoted his life to children, perishing with them in the Holocaust.

Janusz Korczak was more than a good doctor. He was a hero. The Dr. Spock of his day, he established orphanages run on his principle of honoring children and shared his ideas with the public in books and on the radio. He famously said that "children are...

“Each man is the steward of his own soul.” —Gavriel Savit, Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

By Gavriel Savit

“[A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.” —The New York Times
 
Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller and Publishers Weekly best book of the year perfect for readers of The Book Thief and All the Light We Cannot See.

“How do you give someone a piece of sky? Memorize it. Then write it down for him.” —Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

The Book Thief (Anniversary Edition)

The Book Thief (Anniversary Edition)

By Markus Zusak

This anniversary edition of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller features pages of bonus content, including marked-up manuscript pages, original sketches, and pages from the author's writing notebook.

“Life-changing.” —The New York Times

 
When Death has a story to tell, you listen.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, an...

“You’re my best friend, Shmuel,” he said. “My best friend for life.” —John Boyne, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

The Boy In the Striped Pajamas (Movie Tie-in Edition)

The Boy In the Striped Pajamas (Movie Tie-in Edition)

By John Boyne

Berlin 1942
When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move from their home to a new house far far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence running alongside stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people he can see in the distance.

But Bruno longs to be an explorer an...

“The year wore on. Battles were fought. Men were killed. The leaves changed color and fell. Napoleon retreated and, in due course, was overthrown.” —Gavriel Savit, The Way Back

The Way Back

The Way Back

By Gavriel Savit

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • A SYDNEY TAYLOR NOTABLE BOOK

Perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman, a sweeping historical fantasy that follows two teens on a journey through the Far Country, a Jewish land of spirits and demons.


For the Jews of Eastern Europe, demons are everywhere: dancing on the rooftops in the darkness of midnight, congregating in the trees, harrowing the dead, even reaching out t...

“I had the happiest life imaginable. We lived in music. We buttered our bread with it. Music walked in the door with Papa or Maria like another member of the family.” —Vesper Stamper, What the Night Sings

What the Night Sings

What the Night Sings

By Vesper Stamper

A Morris Award Finalist
Longlisted for the National Book Award

For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life.


"A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed." --KRISTIN HANNAH, #1 New York Times be...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Underlined