[wps_cart_icon]

Four Quotes from Important Books to Commemorate Holocaust Remembrance Day

We’re commemorating Holocaust Remembrance Day with a reading list of powerful young adult novels. Holocaust Remembrance Day is recognized internationally and corresponds to the twenty-seventh day of Nisan on the Hebrew calendar. This year, we reflect on the lessons of the Holocaust by pausing to honor the lives lost and committing to advance with a renewed appreciation for life itself.

Here are some powerful young adult book quotes to commemorate Holocaust Remembrance Day.

Who am I? What is to become of me? What path should I take in life?

Albert Marrin, A Light in the Darkness
A Light in the Darkness

A Light in the Darkness

From National Book Award Finalist Albert Marrin comes the moving story of Janusz Korczak, the heroic Polish Jewish doctor who devoted his life to children, perishing with them in the Holocaust.

Janusz Korczak was more than a good doctor. He was a hero. The Dr. Spock of his day, he established orphanages run on his principle of honorin...

Each man is the steward of his own soul.

Gavriel Savit, Anna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

“[A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.” —The New York Times
 
Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller and Publishers Weekly

How do you give someone a piece of sky? Memorize it. Then write it down for him.

Markus Zusak, The Book Thief
The Book Thief (Anniversary Edition)

The Book Thief (Anniversary Edition)

This anniversary edition of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller features pages of bonus content, including marked-up manuscript pages, original sketches, and pages from the author's writing notebook.

“Life-changing.” —The New York Times

 
When Death has a story to tell, you li...

I had the happiest life imaginable. We lived in music. We buttered our bread with it. Music walked in the door with Papa or Maria like another member of the family.

Vesper Stamper, What the Night Sings
What the Night Sings

What the Night Sings

A Morris Award Finalist
Longlisted for the National Book Award

For fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life.

"A tour de force. This powerful story of lov...

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Post a comment
0 Likes 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined