Fall 2023 YA New Releases You Need to Read

As your book nerd besties, we’ll never let a new release pass without letting you know! Check out these fall 2023 YA new releases! If you love these books, check out the Underlined book page here, and let us know what you’re reading at @getunderlined!

Fall 2023 | YA Romance Books

American Royals IV: Reign

American Royals IV: Reign

A queen’s life hangs in the balance, and her siblings’ decisions—about what to do, and most of all, who to love—could change the course of history. Romance. Duty. Power…only one can triumph in this stunning conclusion to the New York Times bestselling American Royals series.

See You on Venus

See You on Venus

Two teens embark on a journey to Spain to discover the meaning of love, death and everything in between in this star-crossed tale perfect for fans of Five Feet Apart and The Fault in Our Stars! Soon to be a major motion picture starring Virginia Gardner and Alex Aiono.

The Borrow a Boyfriend Club

The Borrow a Boyfriend Club

A feel-good, coming-of-age rom-com from debut author Page Powars that follows a trans teen who joins a boyfriend borrowing service masquerading as an Italian Club to prove that he’s one of the guys, especially to its frustratingly handsome leader.

Ryan and Avery

Ryan and Avery

From the New York Times bestselling author of EVERY DAY, this is a queer love story for the ages–told over the course of a couple’s first ten dates.

Eight Dates and Nights

Eight Dates and Nights

Two teens with two very different ideas of how to spend Hanukkah learn to work together to save the last Jewish remnant in small town Texas in this cozy holiday romance!

The Homecoming War

The Homecoming War

When plunging enrollment forces two rival high schools to merge, two class presidents must work together to make the schools unite. But when a mutual crush emerges, they’ll both have to figure out what they want and where their loyalties lie before they become the most hated people at school.

Didn't See That Coming

Didn't See That Coming

A hilariously fresh and romantic send-up to You’ve Got Mail about a gamer girl with a secret identity and the online bestie she’s never met IRL until she unwittingly transfers to his school, from the bestselling author of Dial A for AuntiesThe Obsession, and Well, That Was Unexpected.

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance

Caught in a Bad Fauxmance

From debut author Elle Gonzalez Rose comes a fresh, fun contemporary rom-com about an aspiring artist who agrees to fake date one of his family’s longtime enemies in the hopes of gathering intel strong enough to take down their rivals and keep the family cabin they gambled in a risky bet.

Fall 2023 | YA Thriller and Horror Books

There's No Way I'd Die First

There's No Way I'd Die First

A spine-tingling contemporary horror novel that follows a scary-movie buff as she hosts an elaborate Halloween bash but soon finds the festivities upended when she and her guests are forced to test their survival skills in a deadly game, from debut author Lisa Springer.

Monstrous

Monstrous

Forced to spend her summer in her aunt’s strange small town, a teen girl discovers dark secrets hidden in the woods. From the author of Bad Witch Burning comes another pulse-pounding novel perfect for fans of Supernatural and Lovecraft Country.

The Society for Soulless Girls

The Society for Soulless Girls

A sapphic enemies-to-lovers retelling of Jekyll & Hyde, this dark academia thriller follows two roommates who must solve an infamous cold case of serial murders on their campus after an arcane ritual gone wrong prompts another death.

The Haunting

The Haunting

#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Natasha Preston is back with another pulse-pounding, twisty read!

Haunted by the past . . .

Hatchet Girls

Hatchet Girls

Set more than one hundred years after the Borden murders, this propulsive, supernatural thriller imagines what might happen if history were to repeat itself today. Perfect for fans of Kara Thomas and Courtney Summers!

The Revenge Game

The Revenge Game

A wickedly comic feminist mystery about the dark side of a hopeless romantic’s seemingly perfect love story—for readers of Jessica Goodman and Kara Thomas.

Win Lose Kill Die

Win Lose Kill Die

A high-school slasher with a lethal twist, perfect for fans of Holly Jackson! The students at Morton Academy are high-achievers, selected based on academic excellence. So when a series of murders target the school’s best and brightest, the pressure is on.

Failure is fatal…

Where There's Smoke

Where There's Smoke

In this fast-paced thriller, eighteen-year-old Calli finds herself alone after the loss of her father—until a bruised and broken girl shows up on her property, forcing her to face the present, rethink her future, and unearth the skeletons of her own past.

Fall 2023 | YA Sci-fi and Fantasy Books

Her Radiant Curse

Her Radiant Curse

From the New York Times bestselling author of SIX CRIMSON CRANES comes a tale of two sisters—one as beautiful as the other is monstrous—who must fight to save each other when a betrothal contest gone wrong unleashes an evil that could sever their bond forever.

Midnight at the Houdini

Midnight at the Houdini

A girl discovers a surreal hotel where no one ever leaves. When the clock strikes midnight, she’ll be trapped there forever unless she’s able to break free from magic that in turn breaks all her rules. Perfect for fans of Caraval and The Starless Sea!

Nubia: The Reckoning

Nubia: The Reckoning

The sequel to Nubia: The Awakening, the epic fantasy from actor and producer Omar Epps and writer Clarence A. Haynes! A powerful saga of three teens, the children of refugees from a fallen African utopia, who must navigate their newfound powers in a climate-ravaged New York City.

Sinner's Isle

Sinner's Isle

A spellbinding romantic fantasy about a powerful witch who will do anything to escape the remote island she’s being held captive on, including blackmail a notorious, charming pirate who washes up on shore, from debut author Angela Montoya.

Eragon: The Illustrated Edition

Eragon: The Illustrated Edition

Return to the World of Eragon with master storyteller Christopher Paolini in this stunning illustrated edition packed with full-color paintings! Celebrate 20 years of the worldwide fantasy phenomenon Eragon, the first book in the Inheritance Cycle, which has sold more than 40 million copies across the series!

Murtagh

Murtagh

Master storyteller and internationally bestselling author Christopher Paolini returns to the World of Eragon in this stunning epic fantasy set a year after the events of the Inheritance Cycle. Join Dragon Rider—and fan favorite—Murtagh and his dragon as they confront a perilous new enemy!

Defiant

Defiant

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson comes the final book in an epic series about a girl who will travel beyond the stars to save the world she loves from destruction.

Her Dark Wings

Her Dark Wings

In this powerful, passionate remagining of the Persephone myth for fans of Lore Olympus and Madeline Miller, two former best friends–split apart by betrayal–find themselves reunited in the Underworld. But will either one make it out, or will the darkness that’s growing in each of them consume them whole?

Fall 2023 | YA Contemporary and Coming of Age Books

My Father, The Panda Killer

My Father, The Panda Killer

A poignant coming-of-age story told in two alternating voices: a California teenager railing against the Vietnamese culture, juxtaposed with her father as an eleven-year-old boat person on a harrowing and traumatic refugee journey from Vietnam to the United States.

Plan A

Plan A

A sixteen-year-old girl’s road trip across the country to get an abortion becomes a transformative journey of vulnerability, strength, and above all, choice. From the acclaimed author of A Heart in a Body in the World, this is both an achingly tender love story and a bold, badly needed battle cry about bodily autonomy and the experiences that connect us.

Fall 2023 | YA Nonfiction Books

The Uninhabitable Earth (Adapted for Young Adults)

The Uninhabitable Earth (Adapted for Young Adults)

An exploration of the devastating effects of global warming—current and future—adapted for young adults from the #1 New York Times bestseller. This is not only an assessment on how the future will look to those living through it, but also a dire overview and an impassioned and hopeful call to action to change the trajectory while there is still time.

Fall 2023 | YA Book Boxed Sets

American Royals Boxed Set

American Royals Boxed Set

Power. Drama. Romance. The Crown. Meet America’s royal family in this boxed set that includes the first three books in the New York Times bestselling series!

Legends of Lor'yan 4-Book Boxed Set

Legends of Lor'yan 4-Book Boxed Set

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Lim’s first four books are now available in a collectible boxed set, perfect for existing fans and first-time readers alike!

The Reckoners Series Paperback Box Set

The Reckoners Series Paperback Box Set

Discover a world of epic proportions with this new paperback boxed set, including all three books in the bestselling Reckoners series–SteelheartFirefight, and Calamity–from the mind of #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderon, author of the Mistborn Series, the Stormlight Archives, and the Skyward Series.

New YA Books in Paperback

Did you enjoy these fall 2023 YA new releases? Get more book recs here, and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined