Escape into Fantasy Books This Summer

Summer is the season to get lost in a fantasy world. So, lather on some sunblock and pour an iced lemonade to sip on while you dive into some adventurous YA fantasy books this summer. Immerse yourself in magical realms, sinister forests, or treacherous high seas, and enjoy the sweet summer escape.

Starlings

Starlings

In the wake of her father’s death, a teen girl discovers a side of her family she didn’t know existed, and is pulled into a dark—and ancient—bargain she is next in line to fulfill. A dark YA fantasy debut perfect for fans of House of Hollow and Small Favors.

The Isles of the Gods

The Isles of the Gods

Magic, romance, and slumbering gods clash in this riveting fantasy duology that spans gangsters’ dens, forgotten temples, and the high seas from the New York Times bestselling author of the Aurora Cycle and the Illuminae Files.

Silver in the Bone

Silver in the Bone

From the critically acclaimed author of Lore comes a stunning contemporary fantasy inspired by Celtic lore—the tale of a teenage girl who seeks her destiny in the cursed ruins of Avalon, driven by love, revenge, and pure adrenaline!

“Simmering with magic, peril, romance, and heartbreak.” —Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Shadow and Bone

Spice Road

Spice Road

Raised to protect her nation from the monsters lurking in the sands, sixteen-year-old Imani must fight to find her brother, whose betrayal is now the country’s greatest threat. Get swept away by this romantic fantasy!

House of Roots and Ruin

House of Roots and Ruin

By Erin A. Craig

Coming 07.30.24

A modern masterpiece, this is a classic Gothic thriller-fantasy from bestselling author Erin A. Craig, about doomed love, menacing ambition, and the ghosts that haunt us forever.

In a manor by the sea, one sister is still cursed.

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

The Grimoire of Grave Fates

By Array

Crack open your spell book and enter the world of the illustrious Galileo Academy for the Extraordinary. There’s been a murder on campus, and it’s up to the students of Galileo to solve it. Follow 18 authors and 18 students as they puzzle out the clues and find the guilty party.

Escape into Even More Fantasy Books This Summer

Check out these new and continuing fantasy stories coming soon!

Will you find your escape in one of these fantasy books this summer? Discover more bookish escapes here and get social with us at @getunderlined!

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined