Books That Capture the Spirit of Fall

It’s officially fall! Autumn, fall, Halloween month, whatever you’d like to call it, it’s a season full of magic, both figurative and literal. While spooky season is a highlight, Thanksgiving and the fall foliage are both delights. There are a few things that exude the spirit of autumn—candles, apple cider, caramel, cozy sweaters, and books! Below you’ll find reads that go hand in hand with apple cider and a full moon. Check out this list of YA fall books to read this season.

Alma Presses Play by Tina Cane

Alma Presses Play

Alma Presses Play

By Tina Cane

A lyrical novel-in-verse that takes us through the journey of coming of age in New York during the 80s.

Alma’s life is a series of halfways: She’s half-Chinese, half-Jewish; her parents spend half the time fighting, and the other half silent; and she’s halfway through becoming a woman. But as long as she can listen to her Walkman, hang out with her friends on the stoops of the Village, and ride her bike around the streets of New York, it feels like everything will be all right. Then comes the year when everything changes, and her life is overtaken by constant endings: friends move away, romances bloom and wither, her parents divorce and–just like that–her life as she knew it is over. In this world of confusing beginnings, middles, and endings, is Alma ready to press play on the soundtrack of her life? This is a must-read for your YA fall books TBR.

American Royals II: Majesty by Katharine McGee

American Royals II: Majesty

American Royals II: Majesty

By Katharine McGee

Is America ready for its first queen? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan and Will and Kate, you’ll love this sequel to the New York Times bestseller that imagines America’s own royal family–and all the drama and heartbreak that entails. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We.

Power is intoxicating. Like first love, it can leave you breathless. Princess Beatrice was born with it. Princess Samantha was born with less. Some, like Nina Gonzalez, are pulled into it. And a few will claw their way in. Ahem, we’re looking at you Daphne Deighton.

As America adjusts to the idea of a queen on the throne, Beatrice grapples with everything she lost when she gained the ultimate crown. Samantha is busy living up to her “party princess” persona…and maybe adding a party prince by her side. Nina is trying to avoid the palace–and Prince Jefferson–at all costs. And a dangerous secret threatens to undo all of Daphne’s carefully laid “marry Prince Jefferson” plans.

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass (HBO Tie-In Edition)

His Dark Materials: The Golden Compass (HBO Tie-In Edition)

By Philip Pullman

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller hailed as one of the best books of all time, is now the basis for an HBO original series, starring Dafne Keen, Ruth Wilson, James McAvoy, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

An Entertainment Weekly "All-Time Greatest Novel"
A Newsweek "Top 100 Book of All Time"


Philip Pullman takes readers to a world where humans have animal familiars and where parallel universes are wit...

One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

One of Us Is Lying (TV Series Tie-In Edition)

One of Us Is Lying (TV Series Tie-In Edition)

By Karen M. McManus

All the secrets of the Bayview Four will be revealed in the TV series now streaming on Peacock!

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY • BUZZFEED • POPCRUSH

“Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (Entertainment Weekly) in this addictive mystery about what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk ...

On Sale 11.30.21

Take Me With You When You Go by David Levithan and Jennifer Niven

Take Me With You When You Go

Take Me With You When You Go

By Jennifer Niven

From the New York Times bestselling authors of All the Bright Places and Every Day comes a story of hope, siblinghood, and finding your home in the people who matter the most.

Subject: You. Missing.

Ezra Ahern wakes up one day to find his older sister, Bea, gone. No note, no sign, nothing but an email address hidden somewhere only he would find it. Ezra never expected to be left behind with their abusive s...

This is My America by Kim Johnson

This Is My America

This Is My America

By Kim Johnson

"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.


Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. Af...

Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes

By Elizabeth Lim

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author ...

You’d Be Home Now by Kathleen Glasgow

You'd Be Home Now

You'd Be Home Now

By Kathleen Glasgow

From the New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces comes a stunning novel that Vanity Fair calls “impossibly moving” and “suffused with light”. In this raw, deeply personal story, a teenaged girl struggles to find herself amidst the fallout of her brother's addiction in a town ravaged by the opioid crisis.

For all of Emory's life she's been told who she is. In town she's the rich one--the...

Did you enjoy this article about YA fall books? Get social with us at @getunderlined!

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 0 Comments
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

By clicking Sign Up, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to Penguin Random House's
Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Underlined