[wps_cart_icon]

9 Otherworldly Books to Read While You Wait for the Ready Player One Movie

We’re excited to see the film adaptation of Ready Player One in theaters on March 29, and we know you are, too. Video games, ’80s pop culture, outer space, and virtual reality? Yes, please! The end of March can’t get here fast enough.

We know the wait can be torture, so we’ve got some book recommendations to tide you over until release day. From virtual-reality thrillers to outer-space adventures, these books will help you pass the time while you wait for Ready Player One.

via GIPHY

Otherworld

Otherworld

Otherworld is the next phase in virtual reality and promises an experience unlike anything else. With an ultra-real game that has real-world consequences, this novel will hook you from the beginning and get you psyched up for the awesomeness of Ready Player One.                                                                                

Illuminae

Illuminae

When two mega-corporations invade Kady and Ezra’s tiny planet, they manage to escape on an evacuation fleet. But there are secrets aboard the ship, and the two teens find themselves swimming in an ocean of lies. This outer-space adventure will keep you guessing through every twist and turn.

Nyxia

Nyxia

Corporate greed, an outer-space setting, a ruthless competition, and a prize worth fighting for make this novel an unforgettable thrill ride. Nyxia will feed your sci-fi obsession as you race through the action-filled pages.                                                         

Armada

Armada

It should come as no surprise that Ernest Cline’s third book, Armada, is a brilliant mash-up of pop culture, science fiction, and video games. It will keep you glued to the page and more excited than ever for the movie adaptation of Ready Player One. 

Warcross

Warcross

Warcross is a virtual-reality game that has become a way of life for almost everyone on earth. Advanced technology, brilliant hackers, a mysterious villain, and an intense tournament make this a brilliant sci-fi adventure you won’t want to miss.

Artemis

Artemis

With her debts piling up and desperation setting in, Jazz accepts a well-paying but dangerous gig. With a brilliant criminal, an unusual competition, and a plot full of action and humor, Artemis will keep you riveted to the page.                                                   

By

Set on a future Earth, starring a genius protagonist and featuring immersive simulation games, this novel is perfect for fans of Ready Player One. It was adapted into a movie a few years back, but if you haven’t read the book yet, now is the perfect time to do it.                                                                                                       

By

Rex, Tunde, and Painted Wolf team up for a high-stakes competition against 200 of the world’s teen geniuses. But there’s more to the Game than they’ve been told, and they’ll need to use every skill at their disposal to survive.                                                 

What will you read before the movie comes out? Comment below.

Join the conversation

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
Post a comment
1 Like 1 Comment
Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
1
  1. thethomaskole

    Apr 4, 2018

    Great list (excluding Artemis). There’s a few I’ve never heard of but will be checking out in minutes. There is another new 2018 novel, Virtual Heaven. It’s the closest I’ve seen to RPO, although totally different, like expected. https://www.amazon.com/Virtual-Heaven-scifi-litrpg-player-ebook/dp/B077W5KBTY/ref=mt_kindle?_encoding=UTF8&me=

    Please complete the required fields.



    0 Replies Apr 4, 2018
    Like
    Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Become a Book Nerd

When you’re not reading books, read our newsletter.

Underlined