International Book Covers We Wished We Had on Our Shelves

After some casual scrolling through Instagram, we found that some of our favorite books have different (and stunning) covers across the world.

These international editions have got us ready to travel with an extra large suitcase because we need them on our shelves!

1. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum, the Bulgarian edition, from @lookingforalqska

How fun is this version of Tell Me Three Things? We absolutely love the colors and playfulness.
Tell Me Three Things

Tell Me Three Things

By Julie Buxbaum

A New York Times Bestseller


What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

 
Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-inti...

2. All the Bright Places (Violet y Finch) by Jennifer Niven, the Spanish edition, from @annyy94 

The title, the design, we’re obsessed with everything about this version!

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places

By Jennifer Niven

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

New York Times bestseller

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constan...

3. The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon, the Indonesian edition, from @jenarilk 

We didn’t think it was possible to love a cover as much as we love The Sun is Also A Star‘s cover, until we met this beauty.

The Sun Is Also a Star

The Sun Is Also a Star

By Nicola Yoon

The dazzling new novel from Nicola Yoon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything (in theaters now!), will have you falling in love with Natasha and Daniel as they fall in love with each other!


Natasha:
I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cu...

4. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, the UK edition, from @babblingbooks

The UK and US covers of The Hate U Give are both honest and simple in different ways and we can’t decide which we love more!

The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does—or does not—say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.

5. The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter, the Polish edition, from @bartekbooks

We’re loving this look for The Serpent King, which says “heartbreaking and beautiful” in that perfect Jeff Zenter-way.

The Serpent King

The Serpent King

By Jeff Zentner

Named to ten BEST OF THE YEAR lists and selected as a William C. Morris Award Winner,The Serpent King is the critically acclaimed, much-beloved story of three teens who find themselves--and each other--while on the cusp of graduating from high school with hopes of leaving their small-town behind.

"Move over, John Green; Zentner is coming for you." —The New York Public Library

“Will fill the ...

6. Beware that Girl by Teresa Toten, the Russian edition, from @lana_mars_

We already thought this book was dark and mysterious, and then we saw this Russian edition, which is basically a serious warning for readers: beware. that. girl.

Beware That Girl

Beware That Girl

By Teresa Toten

For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.
 
The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien...

7. One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus, the Dutch, UK, and Swedish editions, from @writerkmc

One of these books is the US edition. Get it? We love all versions of this book, and getting to see them all lined up on one shelf thanks to author Karen M. McManus’s Insta feed is kind of awesome.

One of Us Is Lying

One of Us Is Lying

By Karen M. McManus

Pretty Little Liars meets The Breakfast Club” (EW.com) in this “flat-out addictive” (RT Book Reviews) story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive.
 
Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
    Bronwyn, the brain, is Ya...

8. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, the UK edition, from @books.in.the.village

The UK created one cover for each of the sisters in the story, each darker than the last. Mic drop.

Three Dark Crowns

Three Dark Crowns

By Kendare Blake

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose . . . it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

9. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, the Turkish edition, from @pegasusyayinlari

Although it has the same imagery as the US edition, the one word title here makes this cover stand out. Plus, we couldn’t resist this beachy photo.

We Were Liars

We Were Liars

By E. Lockhart

A New York Times Bestseller

One of James Patterson's "Favorite Thrillers for the Beach" (New York Times)

"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents
." —Wall Street Journal

"A rich, stunning summer mystery with a sharp twist that will leave you dying to talk about the book with a pal or ten." &md...

10. And I Darken by Kiersten White, the UK edition, from @readingdesires

Can we just say, FIERCE?! We love seeing Lada in all her ruthless glory here.

And I Darken

And I Darken

By Kiersten White

The New York Times Bestseller!

“Absolutely riveting.” —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger 

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a ...

11. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, the Russian edition, from @darielkav

Although similar in design to the US version, the title makes this one special. It translates to “The Whole World” and we just love that so much.

Everything, Everything

Everything, Everything

By Nicola Yoon

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--now a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly. 

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is a girl who’s literally all...

Which edition do you need on your shelves?


Titles Mentioned in this Article