Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

By Gavriel Savit
Anna and the Swallow Man
“[A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.” —The New York Times
 
Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller and Publishers Weekly best book of the year perfect for readers of The Book Thief and All the Light We Cannot See.
 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.
 
And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.
 
The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.
 
Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.
 
“Exquisite.” —The Wall Street Journal
 
“A graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype.” —The Horn Book Magazine, Starred
 
“This deeply moving debut novel casts naivete against the cruel backdrop of inhumanity.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred
 
“[A] quiet exploration of love and its limits.” —The Bulletin, Starred

Quizzes

Quiz

Which Member of the Breakfast Club Are You?

Quiz

What Type of Reader Are You?


Watch

Leigh Bardugo Sets the Stage for Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Play video

VIDEO: Nicola Yoon Tells All AboutEverything, EverythingBecoming a Movie

Play video

VIDEO:What to Say Next Author Julie Buxbaum Shares the Importance of Journaling

Play video