Beware That Girl

Beware That Girl

By Teresa Toten
Beware That Girl
For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.
 
The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change all that. She’s book-smart. She’s street-smart. And she’s also a masterful liar. As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior-class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.
 
When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fund-raising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives, becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get to him without having to share their dark pasts?
 
“Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl.” —PW
 
“It’s smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable.” —Quill & Quire, Starred

Quizzes

Quiz

Which Member of the Breakfast Club Are You?

Quiz

What Type of Reader Are You?


Watch

Leigh Bardugo Sets the Stage for Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Play video

VIDEO: Nicola Yoon Tells All AboutEverything, EverythingBecoming a Movie

Play video

VIDEO:What to Say Next Author Julie Buxbaum Shares the Importance of Journaling

Play video